Mac Pro clicking Sound ( not the power supply )

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by ericsd05, Mar 13, 2013.

  1. ericsd05 macrumors newbie

    ericsd05

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    #1
    Ok Guys i have a Mac Pro 1,1 and it has a clicking sound...

    I thought it was the power supply so I replaced it along with the logic board...

    But the problem is still there...

    Once i push the power button the power supply makes a clicking sound and turns on off on off....

    Does anyone know what the issue is before I scrap the computer?

    No one at Apple can figure it out and I am beyond Frustrated!
     
  2. GermanyChris macrumors 601

    GermanyChris

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Here
    #2
    Something is installed wrong
     
  3. brand macrumors 601

    brand

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #3
    That I find hard to believe since they will replace parts until it is fixed.
     
  4. Mustard Chops macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    #4
    A 1,1 would be classed as vintage now, so no, they wouldn't...
     
  5. Tesselator, Mar 13, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 14, 2013

    Tesselator macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #5
    Yup, they sure wouldn't. And they might not even on a new machine. In my experience Apple support staffers try hard to avoid any extra work. If it's not something commonly known they'll just replace the entire machine. And be careful if they do that because often they don't even move your parts over to the new/refurb box. So like if you had 2 high speed 8GB DIMMs in you may get it back with 8 slow 2GB DIMMs and etc.

    Anyway, more on topic, I think Chris is on track. I'd start pulling out components and see if it couldn't be isolated to something more specific. Even a bad processor in the worst case.



    .
     
  6. brand macrumors 601

    brand

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #6
    That is a good point.
     
  7. bearcatrp macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Location:
    Boon Docks USA
    #7
    Is it constant like the rotation of a fan? Its the only moving part besides the PSU.
     
  8. ericsd05 thread starter macrumors newbie

    ericsd05

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    #8
    Ok I officially give up... Replaced the power supply, processors and logic board and nothing.. Really wish apple would help me but they don't like us vintage kids... Time to trash my Mac and go back to windows...
     
  9. PowerPCMacMan macrumors 6502a

    PowerPCMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Location:
    PowerPC land
    #9
    WAIT!

    Don't do anything yet... One last guess: Is there anything obstructing the fans, or a piece of plastic which might have gotten caught around the fan areas? This is really pathetic. Apple doesn't care to diagnose a 1,1 Mac Pro?

    I am starting to have doubts about Apple myself. They SURE have changed.. They were much nicer in 1999 when I bought my Sawtooth and now they don't care?


     
  10. ericsd05 thread starter macrumors newbie

    ericsd05

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    #10
    Like I said I have cleaned and replaced everything! Going to take it to a vintage mac repair place tomorrow...

    ----------

    It's pretty sad when Hp will support my $600 2005 pc yet apple won't support my 2006 $3400 computer... Apple is going downhill quick!
     
  11. PowerPCMacMan macrumors 6502a

    PowerPCMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Location:
    PowerPC land
    #11
    Dude, I feel for ya.. really I do. Good luck taking it to an ASR. Let us all know what the culprit was and yes, ever since Apple moved to Intel their stuff and support has gone down the toilet. The Apple of the PowerPC days is not the same Apple today; Pathetic and a shame is all I can say..

    And God help all of us should Apple release a new Mac Pro but such a machine where expandability is LIMITED compared to what we all have now. I have a big suspicion that the Mac Pro we all love and expand with will not be the same machine the coming months.

    If it does not allow us the freedom to expand like the previous models, I expect all of us to jump ship with Apple at that point. Then the Mac Pro will be truly dead.

     
  12. Tesselator macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #12
    I don't think it's bad what they're doing and how they go about it. It's to be expected from a company Apple's size. In fact for such a large company I think they're doing awesomely on the support end. Fairly amazing when you think about it really. The 1,1 is what, almost 8 years old now. Yeah, that's boneyard material in terms of any kind of reasonably expected tech support.

    The fact that the 1,1 and 2,1 are still nearly as fast and capable as their very newest offering does kinda make us wish for a longer support ticket - but it's actually unreasonable of us when we stop to think about it. OTOH, Apple could probably make some bucks by selling extended support for the 1,1 and others as they near their end days. Maybe make it so that 50% of the price of the extended support ticket could be used toward the purchase of current MacPro models or something. ;)

    But beyond that they're doing OK to great by both world and western standards. Seriously...
     
  13. phrehdd macrumors 68040

    phrehdd

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    #13
    As mentioned fans are usually the culprit.

    There is a fan also on your vid card? Have you checked that?

    Also - some hard drives will do that as they get old and eventually turn into the click of death.

    Then again, there are some disc drives (DVD,CD, BD) that can make such a sound when first initialized.

    I sure hope you find what the problem is and hope its a very cheap fix. I fell your pain (having had a 1,1 MP in the past).
     
  14. ericsd05 thread starter macrumors newbie

    ericsd05

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    #14
    Ok So the Guys at the repair place said that my cpus were bad and that they fried the mobo and power supply... has anyone heard of this? Should i buy new processers and try them before giving up?
     
  15. Macsonic macrumors 65816

    Macsonic

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Location:
    Earth
    #15
    Try to check first how much you will be spending for the processors and also verify with the repair shop if they are so sure that it is your processor that is defective. And then from there you can move forward on new options.
     
  16. bearcatrp macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Location:
    Boon Docks USA
    #16
    Not worth investing in such old technology. Sell what you can for parts and get another computer, if it is the logic board and processors. You can buy a better system or build one if you can allot cheaper.
     
  17. ericsd05 thread starter macrumors newbie

    ericsd05

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    #17
    Well im wondering if i should spend 40 - 100 bucks on a new processor and hope that fixes it or scrap the mac pro and buy another used one and transfer the working parts...
     
  18. d-m-a-x macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    #18
    if the motherboard is gone it is scrap metal
     
  19. Derpage macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    #19
    bad mosfets make weird clicking noises. but if those are messed up, you need a new board and will eventually need a new cpu.
     
  20. GermanyChris macrumors 601

    GermanyChris

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Here
    #20
    This I can believe, the rest I don't
     
  21. Pummers macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    #21
    Try this:
    Pull the RAM out of your system, all of it. Turn on the system, see if it tells you there is no RAM, then put the RAM back in your system.

    For some reason mine was randomly KPing and eventually it would turn on then click off. Nothing seemed to work until I changed the order of my RAM... :confused:

    Now it boots up 100% fine and all the RAM tested OK too. Go figure. This was on my 3,1 with 32GB of RAM.
     

Share This Page