Mac Pro cMP replacement power cable

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by pawtracks, Feb 16, 2016.

  1. pawtracks macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #1
    I recently picked up a few (new to me) cMP's and none had the stock white power cord.
    The Horror - I know...

    Could be my jedi search skills are lacking, but I had a hard time tracking down a white 'square' replacement. Seemed like everything out there is round for an iMac.

    Found this on eBay and wanted to pass it along.
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/261879444188

    No affiliation with seller and I have NOT received it yet.
    I'll report back when I do and leave a review.

    s-l1600 (3).jpg
     
  2. r6mile macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Location:
    London, UK
    #2
  3. pawtracks thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #3
  4. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #4
    This same plug has been used for decades. Pretty sure my Dad's original IBM PC had same cord. Should not be hard to find.
     
  5. MrAverigeUser macrumors 6502a

    MrAverigeUser

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Location:
    europe
  6. BillyBobBongo macrumors 68020

    BillyBobBongo

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Location:
    On The Interweb Thingy!
    #6
    I think he really wants a white one, that looks like the original cable that came with the Mac Pro.

    Not often I find people that are more anal retentive than myself, but you Sir take the biscuit! ;)
     
  7. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #7
    All you need is basically the correct shape, that's a standard plug, no Apple magic inside, no need to get the Mac Pro specific cable if that will cost much more than a "normal" cable.

    Anyway, this is the correct cable (same as mine).
     
  8. pawtracks, Feb 17, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2016

    pawtracks thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #8
    Exactly - if I wanted a cheap ass looking (but functional) Monoprice cable hanging off the back of my Jony Ive beautifully designed "Aluminium" 12 core 3.46GHz, 128GB RAM, dual 1TB SSD RAID0, Nvidia Titan X (from MacVidCards BTW), etc..

    I'd buy a Dell

    Thanks for all the tips though ;)
     

Share This Page