Mac Pro config advice (beginning of Aug purchase)

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by design-is, Jun 29, 2009.

  1. design-is macrumors 65816

    design-is

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    London / U.K.
    #1
    Hi all :)

    Towards the beginning of August we are possibly getting two new mac pro's at work and I've been asked to advise on the configuration of the new machines.

    Currently we have 2xG5 (1 really old and a bit tempermental, one just old) and 1 Intel based Mac Pro (unknown spec - not my machine - about 1 1/2 years old).

    We are the in-house design team for a greeting card company/publisher & the G5's choke on large image files, large Quark files and especially when doing the order forms (lots of tabular data and images in a Quark document).

    Most files are stored on the server, so disk space isn't a priority.

    Obviously an all singing, all dancing, top range machine would be lovely...

    But I reckon a couple of stock 8 cores will be more than enough to keep everyone happy and be 'future-proof' (if there is such a thing) for a good number of years (6+?).

    I welcome everyone's thoughts & advice...

    Thanks in advance!

    /Doug
     
  2. Sweetfeld28 macrumors 65816

    Sweetfeld28

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2003
    Location:
    Buckeye Country, O-H
    #2
    I would get the Quad, with Airport Extreme, and AppleCare. Then, i would buy cheaper RAM from MacSales, and put in another 2 2GB sticks in later.

    Our Mac Pro at work seem to run fine, and we deal with 2GB to 4GB Photoshop files on a daily basis.
     
  3. Shake 'n' Bake macrumors 68020

    Shake 'n' Bake

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Location:
    Albany
    #3
    I'd get the 2.66 GHz octocore. Get enough RAM to get to 8 GB or more total from OWC.
     
  4. design-is thread starter macrumors 65816

    design-is

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    London / U.K.
    #4
    Cheers for the advice guys.

    @Sweetfeld28 - The Quad core would certainly do the trick, but knowing the boss would not want to buy anything else for a long time, would the Octo core not be wiser? Airport not needed, every machine has an ethernet cable waiting (well, used by older models at the moment, but will be used for newer when they're switched).

    @Shake 'n' Bake - This was my thinking, but not sure if the boss would want to order ram separately or if they would want to keep it all under the AppleCare. BTW, I'm in the UK, so no OWC, but I've always been happy with Crucial.
     
  5. Shake 'n' Bake macrumors 68020

    Shake 'n' Bake

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Location:
    Albany
    #5
    A 2.66 GHz octocore + 8 GB RAM + AppleCare = 3894 pounds.

    If that is within budget, get it.

    Refurbs may also be worth a look. They come with the same warranty and stuff.

    That 3.2 GHz one looks good. You'd have to either buy Apple RAM and have them install it or get your own though.
     
  6. design-is thread starter macrumors 65816

    design-is

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    London / U.K.
    #6
    Cheers Shake 'n' Bake. Do you know if you can get AppleCare on referbs?
     
  7. Shake 'n' Bake macrumors 68020

    Shake 'n' Bake

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Location:
    Albany
    #7
    Yup. You can get AppleCare if you like. A refurb qualifies for the same things a new Mac does.
     
  8. Luba macrumors 6502a

    Luba

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    #8
    Was in an Apple Store yesterday and the Specialist said that if I upgraded the RAM myself on a 13" MacBook Pro it would void the warranty. Didn't talk about the Mac Pro.

    Sounds crazy if Mac Pro's feature is expandability that upgrading RAM yourself would void warranty.

    Perhaps the Specialist is incorrect about upgrading RAM on a MBP would void warranty??
     
  9. Shake 'n' Bake macrumors 68020

    Shake 'n' Bake

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Location:
    Albany
    #9
    On the Mac Pro, you can upgrade RAM, HDDs, and graphics cards, and add cards without voiding the warranty.
     
  10. design-is thread starter macrumors 65816

    design-is

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    London / U.K.
    #10
    Yeh, Mac Pro's are fine for upgrading yourself. They only get funny if you mess around in your MBP and break something. If you do it right, you won't leave any trail and they will still honour your warranty. You may have to put the original bits back first though, so they don't blame the fault on your new hardware. Seems to differ a little depending where you go though, and how nice the person is you talk to.
     
  11. design-is thread starter macrumors 65816

    design-is

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    London / U.K.
    #11
    My response to boss of company money if anyone cares :)

     

Share This Page