Mac Pro corrupted display

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by GLS, Dec 30, 2011.

  1. GLS macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    #1
    Hi all-

    2010 Mac Pro, 12 core, Radeon 5770 with dual 27" cinema displays. Running Lion.

    Occasionally, the display will get corrupted...where the display from monitor one will "shift" over and spread out partially over both monitors, with the far left hand side of monitor one will have the far right hand side of monitor two...sounds confusing, I know. Also, there is "tv static" looking areas at the top of both displays.

    I can move the mouse over to the area where the apple menu is, and choose log out...and upon logging back in, the problem is fixed.

    There is no rhyme or reason when this happens. I've had it happen when watching video in full screen, and I've had it happen while working in an Aperture window.

    Any ideas?

    Many thanks to all who respond.
     
  2. wafl iron macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    #2
    i assume you got apple care? find out how to make it easily reproducible and take it to the store. maybe a bad card. experiment with other monitors/combinations gpu ports to rule out the displays... etc...
     
  3. initialsBB macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    #3
    Does this default appear in screen captures ? Next time it shows up do command-shift-3 and a .png will appear on the desktop. If it looks OK it more or less rules out OS X, which would leave either the graphics card or the monitors.
     
  4. DigitalVT macrumors member

    DigitalVT

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    Also check your cable, swop them over. Replace with new or known working cable. The "snow" indicates a possible cable fault although it could be the card with your other issues. Also worth trying is to reseat he card! Good luck!
     
  5. iPhobia macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    #5
    I have the same issue w/ my Dell 30". I have a 5770 and it'll snowflake. I have to pull the DVI cable out and plug it back in to fix the issue. On dark backgrounds I see little specks of green pixelation. I've seen many people w/ this issue w/ ATI and 27"+ monitors. I blame the card.
     
  6. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #6
    Swapping the cable on a cinema display is a non-trivial task.
     

Share This Page