Mac Pro / CS3 / 4 or 8 cores?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by davidwatts, Jan 9, 2008.

1. davidwatts macrumors newbie

Looking for some advice. I'm a graphic artist and photo retoucher who primarily uses Photoshop, InDesign and Illustrator. Sometimes I need to work on some very large PSD files, but I do only a little iMovie work, and no gaming.

It's well past time to upgrade my Dual 1.25 GHz G4 with 1.75 GB Ram on which I've made my living for almost 4 years. The new Mac Pros look great to me, but I wonder if the one 2.8GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon (quad-core) for $500 less than the 2 2.8GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon (quad-core) might not be a better machine for most of the work I do? From what I've been able to gather, CS3 apps aren't multi-processor savvy at this point, and there wouldn't be much of a speed boost for these apps at this time between quad or octo.

But, perhaps someone could tell me if there will be much of a speed difference in the future when Adobe updates the CS3 apps to take advantage of 4 or 8 cores? Would $500 would be worth it in the future if I went for the 8-cores now? I think I'd rather go with the single quad core and then spend that $500 on third party RAM and hard drives?

Advice appreciated.

2. oceanzen macrumors regular

oceanzen

For the kind of work you mention, definitely get 4-6GB of ram but not from apple, try crucial.com

3. noi375 macrumors member

Nobody else other than OWC has the ram for the new Mac Pro yet (although Crucial site has been updated to list the new Mac Pro, it doesn't have the RAM listed yet), but like everyone said, as long as you buy it from a good name manufacturer, you are fine with using 3rd party RAM.

4. MRU macrumors demi-god

MRU

^ Photoshop CS3 is limited to using 3GB. I went from 4GB in my MP to 7GB recently and it has made very little difference for me personally.

To the OP...