Mac Pro Cylinder Display Port

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by cohen777, Jun 11, 2013.

  1. cohen777 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Location:
    Lakeland, FL
    #1
    I don't see a dedicated port for a display. I know that the mini-display port is the same as a thunderbolt connection. So, you have six thunderbolt ports. At least one has to go to the display. So, are the thunderbolt ports auto-sensing for a monitor connected to it?
     
  2. Bear macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Sol III - Terra
    #2
    Actually there is an HDMI port for connecting to a display. It's above the power connector next to the power switch in the picture.
     
  3. cohen777 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Location:
    Lakeland, FL
    #3
    I don't think that Apple is going to take a step backward from mini-display port to HDMI. Also, Apple is touting this machine for multidisplay work too.
     
  4. Bear macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Sol III - Terra
    #4
    Well there is an HDMI 1.4 port on it. And I suspect connecting displays to a Thunderbolt 2 port will work much the same way as connecting to the current Thunderbolt ports work. And those are apparently auto-sensing.
     
  5. deconstruct60 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    #5
    It is not a matter of stepping back as much as acknowledging that not every monitor comes with a DisplayPort (mini or otherwise) port. Similarly folks might want check their video output on a TV .... which is where a decent fraction is ultimately bound for anyway.

    "Just buy a dongle' is ridiculous when there are 100's of millions of HMDI TVs and monitors out there. Far more than there are Macs or even active iOS devices.

    ----------

    Actually should be better because will have the DisplayPort v1.2 bypass mode. If need to daisy chain some DP v1.2 monitors you can.

    This years Mac should pick up DP v1.2 also.

    http://www.anandtech.com/show/6885/...e-20gbps-falcon-ridge-tb-controller-announced

    but not able to do as much multiple 4K monitor work. They aren't affordable so not a large group "missing out".
     
  6. thedarkhorse macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #6
    there is HDMI and then 6 thunderbolts which can be full displayport, DVI, hdmi, or VGA. No one is going to care about people complaining about having to get a $30 adapter to hook their $4000 computer to a $2000 screen.
     
  7. OrangeSVTguy macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #7
    It will have one HDMI 1.4 port which will support 4k displays, Retina Apple Displays which most likely only have TB2 ports lol.
     
  8. houkouonchi macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    #8
    HDMI 1.4 only supports 30Hz @ 4k so its not surprising that an apple display would be TB/display port only which I think is good for a monitor as you want that to be atleast 60Hz.
     
  9. Tesselator macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #9
    Isn't MiniDisplay Port connector compatible to TB1 and TB2. I thought I read where you can just plug in a MDP cable directly into a TB socket and it'll work.

    No?
     
  10. Stetrain macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    #10
    Correct.
     
  11. thekev macrumors 604

    thekev

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    #11
    It works as long as you use a displayport cable. I've connected to a displayport display with a mini displayport to displayport cable. A thunderbolt cable won't work, and I hate adapters. I don't think you can chain a displayport cable off a thunderbolt device, but the displayport 1.2 compliance would allow other displays to be chained.
     
  12. Tesselator macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #12
    OK, thanks for the confirmation guys!

    So, the MP6,1 has six "dedicated" display ports. ;) Besides of course the HDMI one. :p
     
  13. spacedesign911 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #13
    Hi Guys, apologies in advance if this has been answered, but for the avoidance of doub't im going to ask.

    Are you guys saying that the existing Apple Cinema displays with Mini display port cables only will connect to Thunderbolt and work?

    If so will my 3 Apple 27" displays connect to one of the new Mac Pros?
     
  14. thekev macrumors 604

    thekev

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    #14
    The thunderbolt displays require thunderbolt cables. They must be plugged into thunderbolt ports.

    The cinema displays can be plugged into thunderbolt ports or mini displayport ports, but you cannot use thunderbolt cables. With third party displays that use displayport inputs, use a mini displayport to displayport cable rather than an adapter if possible.

    Basically don't use a thunderbolt cable if it isn't specifically a thunderbolt display.
     
  15. spacedesign911 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #15
    Thanks for the reply thekev, so my Apple Cinema Displays, which have a mini display cable hard wired into them, can work on the new Mac Pro's which have thunderbolt only ports?
     
  16. zaphoyd macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Wisconsin/Illinois
    #16
    Unless they work totally differently than any other thunderbolt ports apple has shipped, yes, you should be able to connect 3xmDP cinema displays to the new Mac pro and still have 3xTB and the HDMI to play with
     
  17. spacedesign911 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #17
    Thanks for the reply Zaphoyd, I had no idea this was possible untill I stumbled on this tread. I bough 3 screens this year to use on my 2012 3.33 6 core tower. This is very positive information. Will obviously check in again when the device ships.
     

Share This Page