Mac Pro & Dell UP3214Q - 60hz

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by kingtan, Nov 13, 2014.

  1. kingtan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    #1
    hi guys. ive got a late 2013 mac pro (trash can) and just bought myself a Dell UP3214Q 4K monitor.

    i would like to run the monitor at 60hz and was wondering which cable to use.

    I did some googling and could not find a definitive answer to my question.

    But from my research it says to get 'Displayport 1.2 to mini Displayport' cable. is this right? can i get a 'mini Displayport to a mini Displayport' cable? will that be sufficient to run the monitor at 60hz?

    any help is appreciated! thanks! :)
     
  2. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #2
    Does the display have MiniDisplayPort in? A standard DP cable with right adapter may be easiest.

    People have had mixed results with that display.
     
  3. edanuff macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    #3
    For reasons that have never been entirely clear to me, mini-DP to DP cables are usually necessary for 4K@60Hz, rather than mini-DP to mini-DP, and even then, you want to use a known good DP 1.2 cable to minimize the chances of screen tearing or glitching.
     
  4. kingtan thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    #4
    ahh thanks guys. yes MacVidCards it does have mini displayport.

    so what i got from google is right... will need to find a displayport 1.2 to mini displayport cable....

    i tried looking but cant find any local stores that sells in Sydney Australia. :(
     
  5. VirtualRain macrumors 603

    VirtualRain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #5
    In the reports and reviews I've read, people have had the most success with these...
    http://www.accellcables.com/products/ultraav-mini-displayport-to-displayport-1-2-cable
     
  6. kingtan thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
  7. uvitor macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Location:
    Brazil
    #7
    Did you already received the monitor? Because mine came with a Mini DP to DP cable thats worked flawlessly along with Mac Pro 2013. So it was not necessary purchase any other cable or adapter to archieve that.
     
  8. kingtan thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    #8
    got it now... thanks uvitor :)

    now I'm having slight issues with occasional glitches on the top bar on yosemite... it flickers when i click on a program from one screen to the other. seems like its lagging a bit too like the mac pro is running slow but its not...

    setup:
    Mac Pro (Late 2013)
    Dell UP3214Q monitor - 60hz
    Dell 3007 WFP HC

    Not sure whats wrong with it :(
     
  9. theSeb macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #9
    Did you definitely enable 60 Hz in the monitor's OSD?
     
  10. benjobe2513 macrumors member

    benjobe2513

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Location:
    Humboldt County, California
    #10
    I recommend returning the Dell UP3214Q while you still can.

    I wasted dozens of hours trying to get that monitor to display UHD @ 60Hz with no success. Like you, at first I thought it was a cable issue. After trying several cables and a few different graphics cards I had elapsed my return period. Dell Support took 6 hours of my time with the end result being "We do not support your Mac configuration." translation: "Tough luck. Stop bothering us with your problems."

    I'm not the only one who had trouble using this monitor with an Apple. Check out these threads:

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1753371

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1668673&page=5

    It's a shame because I loved the image quality of the monitor. The color depth was fantastic. But as a professional video editor the 30Hz was a deal breaker for me. I ended up selling it to a Windows guy who's getting 60Hz from it with no problem.

    I currently have my eye on this monitor. Although, this time around I'm going to do a LOT more research before jumping into it.

    http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/1087657-REG/lg_31mu97_b_31_ips_digital_cinema.html
     
  11. kingtan thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    #11
    hey guys... i did check the monitors settings and i do have enabled 60hz :)

    now the downside of it is i would like to use the native screen size 3840 X 2160 but the text looks really small... i tried following instructions found on this page. http://diglloyd.com/articles/Recommended/DellUP2414Q-conclusions.html but it doesn't work. if i use the scale option then everything will be scaled up even the pictures...

    so now my next issue is scaling... did plenty of google and found holding the option key while selecting scale shows more screen scaling options... but none fixes the this issue...

    any advise?
     
  12. VirtualRain macrumors 603

    VirtualRain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #12
    It's not clear what your problem is... what are you trying to fix?
     
  13. kingtan thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    #13
    hey virtualrain!

    basically I'm trying to fix the monitor to upscaling just the applications on my screen and keeping the images at full res of 1:1 just like the 5k iMac.

    it states this link - http://diglloyd.com/articles/Recommended/DellUP2414Q-conclusions.html
    A large screen that is small, in a way—in scaled mode Best for display, the screen presents itself as a 1920 X 1080 display to applications. While images can draw at full resolution into a 3840 X 2160 area, text and similar visual elements are sized as if the display were only 1920 X 1080. Hence the working room is rather limited for palettes windows, etc.

    but when i open the images they are also scaled up.

    I'm just trying to get the most out of my display and i think the 5k iMac is the best example... :)
     
  14. VirtualRain macrumors 603

    VirtualRain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #14

    What you're trying to do has more to do with software than anything else. What software are you using? Of course any software can scale images if you let it, but if you choose to view or work on them at 100% or "Actual Size" you will get the full benefits of your high density display.
     
  15. kingtan thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    #15
    Hey virtualrain... actual size and best for display option makes the text almost unreadable due to the size... but the image quality is great...

    what i saw on the 5k iMac was a perfect world between legible texts and beautiful images... which i would love to achieve! :)

    I'm running mac pro (late 2013) and the latest yosemite :)
     
  16. VirtualRain macrumors 603

    VirtualRain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #16

    I have a retina display (2560x1440) on my 13" MBP and of course text is too tiny at native res and way too big (but sharp) at "Best for Retina" (x2 scaling) so I run mine at 1.5x scaling for a desktop that's effectively the same as 1680x1050 but it's still incredibly sharp thanks to Apple's scaling algorithm. In fact I can't see any bluriness at all. So I intend to run my 4K 27" Dell displays at a scaled factor between 1.2x and 1.5x (TBD). The best part is, if the app is Retina aware, images and video content will be displayed at 1:1 true pixels. I've tested this in a couple of apps... It does work beautifully.

    I'm not what your problem is, but it could be your software or the way you're using it ;)
     
  17. kingtan thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    #17
    Thanks for sharing your experience! That's what I was planning to achieve. I'm assuming the stock preview app is retina aware? That's the app I tried. Had the resolution to 1.5x. Opened an image in the stock preview app but it's still being scaled. :(
     
  18. VirtualRain, Nov 18, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2014

    VirtualRain macrumors 603

    VirtualRain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #18
    Actually, for some strange reason, Preview does not behave as I would expect and does scale images (to x2). I posted some screen shots showing a couple of apps I use regularly displaying images at 1:1 on my scaled retina setting yesterday here... http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost.php?p=20368677&postcount=18

    EDIT: I'm not so sure those aren't being scaled as well now. Hmm... need to do some more analysis.

    EDIT2: Retina scaling is definitely not presenting content at 1:1 as I thought. My apologies for misleading you earlier. It seems if you want pixel perfect, you need to either edit content at native resolution or using "Best for Retina". For me, this probably means switching to native resolution or "best for retina" if I need to do any pixel-level photo work, and running a scaled resolution most of the rest of the time.
     
  19. kingtan thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    #19
    i see... thats unfortunate...

    how im having lag problems with the monitor! not the screen but the computer is lagging... it lags when changing apps, click from one screen to the other, hiding apps or ever using the corner hot spots! its driving me nuts!

    thought the nMP will be able to handle a 4k monitor like it suggest it can... anyone facing the same issue?
     
  20. VirtualRain macrumors 603

    VirtualRain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #20
    In all my reading on 4K and the nMP I haven't come across anyone complaining about performance. I'll know first hand in a week or two when I get my own 4K monitors.

    What GPUs do you have? Is the lag apparent right after a reboot or does it take awhile to set in? What might have caused it to start now? Any particular app that might be triggering it? Does running native or best for retina improve it? Cables/connection possibly? Just some things to try. Let us know what you find.
     
  21. kingtan thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    #21
    i got the dell UP3214Q and dell 3007 which is a 30" monitor that needs the Mini DisplayPort to Dual-Link DVI Adapter to get the native resolution of 2560x1600.

    i got the 3.7 Ghz quad core and yes running best for retina or native does improve it a little. the apps are pretty standard nothing heavy...

    whenever i use the 'show desktop' corner hot spot... i see about 3 frames of animation and then desktop... so it is that laggy.

    not sure what else i can do... even clicking one screen to another causes the top navigation bar to glitch a bit and I'm using the cable that dell provided...

    didnt have this issue when i was running the dell 3007 and the old dell 2707WFP which is a 27" monitor.
     
  22. whoosh macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2014
    #22
    For us on the fence I would like to get the feedback from folks with recent experiences - as there seem to have been more issues initially (than with the later firmware versions). Benjobe's is a little older experience - as I see threads in which he recommends staying away (I believe he got his in June or so). So I take it uvitor and kingtan have managed 60 Hz without problems (and kingtan has some scaling issues). The good part of the Dell U3214Q is the user accessible lookup table (LUT) which is important for monitor calibration - which is what us photographers will be more interested in (than videographers like benjobe). Very few monitors seem to have it - especially in the 30inch+ 4k space where the NEC PA322UHD-BK has it (but is twice the price of the Dell) & the Eizo EV3237FX-BK has it (but it has smaller color gamut which may be fine - but there are no reviews of it anywhere including the user reviews).

    I am interested in that as well - but that does not look as if it has a user accessible LUT.
     
  23. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #23
    I posted in another thread about it, but while Preview will render at Retina, it's set up to favor window sizes that assume that the display is at a one times scale. This seems to be to preserve behavior between screen densities, and might make multiple display situations where one display is 1x and another is 2x more sane.

    So the upshot is that the inside of the window is Retina, you might just have to mess with the scale to get a 1 to 1 pixel mapping. But it's worth nothing at a 1 to 4 mapping (which happens at 2x) you won't see quality loss, just fatter pixels.
     

Share This Page