Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

More

macrumors regular
Original poster
Dec 27, 2008
Hi Everyone.

I've been an avid lurker for years and finally registered to post and get some advice. I've just sold my beloved G5 Quad (8GB Ram, 1TB etc.) about a week ago and am struggling to make a decision on my leap to an Intel Mac. I'm aware that the Macworld keynote by Mr Schiller is just over a week away but reading the forums here it looks as if we'll need to wait longer to find out about the new Mac Pros. My main problem is that until I make a new purchase I'm having to work on my old Titanium G4 PowerBook 867 DVI... yes! SLOW!

I'd be looking to get a top of the line Mac Pro with a cinema display. The first problem is that the 23" cinema display has just been discontinued and replaced by the 24" LED display that's not really designed for the Mac Pro and is GLOSSY... bad bad bad! (I'm a designer). The traditional 20" and 30" are still available in my local Apple store but will probably be replaced with the new design/glass/glossy in about 9 days at Macworld. The down-side to this is that the technology in the older displays is getting very old these days in comparison to the new LED displays.

Should I quickly get along and buy the older 30" matte display for my future Mac Pro or will the new Mac Pros have a different display port that's possibly only compatible with the newer LED/glass displays? Another consideration is that the new Mac Pros might see a slight re-design and not match the older cinema display design...

Or should I just go and buy the current top of the line 3.2GHz Mac Pro (Jan 2008). It'll work great with the existing 30" display but the tech is obviously getting close to a year old. My head is saying wait for the newer Mac Pro (2009) but something is niggling at me to go and just get the current model considering there might not be a new Mac Pro until WWDC at the latest.