Mac Pro - do i need the raid card?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by NRose8989, May 19, 2008.

1. NRose8989 macrumors 6502a

I've read quite a bit of threads and articles about raid but i still can't find an exact answer for my problem. I'm planning on buying a mac pro soon so I'm pricing everything out but can't decide if i really need the apple raid card. I'm a student developer and plan to use a mac pro for development (possibly video and photo work as well) and also be a media server for my house. I plan to use raid 0 but im not sure if it would be best to just use mac os X software raid 0 or spend the extra $640 (apple.com developer discount) for the apple raid card. I'm not so worried about spending the extra money on the hardware for better performance but I'm more concerned about spend more money for hardware raid when i can get the same results using the software raid. thoughts?

2. yellow Moderator emeritus

yellow

IMO, if you're just using it for RAID0 (or 1), then just do software RAID.
    That box has PLENTY of processing to devote to RAID.
    I think the card is only worth it if you need to do RAID5.

3. Consultant macrumors G5

Consultant

Sounds like you don't need it.

Before doing Raid, you should actually read about the benefits and RISKS of Raid first.

Mac Pro has enough power for what you do even without raid.

4. NRose8989 thread starter macrumors 6502a

thats another thing that i was contemplating. would i really see a performance boost say if i did 2 x 500GB drives in raid 0 or just go with a 1 TB drive non-raid setup. also how is raid 0 more of a risk other than if one drive fails = all drives fail. does raid put extra stress on the drives that causes them to have a higher failure rate?

5. DeuceDeuce macrumors 6502a

DeuceDeuce

What he said above.... Plus, is it stupid to use two different branded HD's to set up a raid 0 and have it be used as my Time Machine to back up my 640gb?

6. StealthRider macrumors 65816

StealthRider