Mac Pro doesn't turn on

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by thiagostorch, Jan 23, 2010.

  1. thiagostorch macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    #1
    Hi everyone.

    First of all, sorry for my English.

    Well, I've already searched for this topic, trying to find the solution for myself but... sometimes my Mac doesn't turn on.

    I have a Mac Pro Intel Zeon Dual Quad, 4Gb RAM, GeForce 8800GT 512Mb, bought in August 2008.

    When everything runs OK and the machine turns on, that's what I hear:
    1) "click"
    2) fan (I don't know how it is called in English) spins
    3) a "puff" from my display (a similar sound occurs, for example, if you touch your TV so that static is discharged), which seems to mean "hey, I'm connected to your Mac, let's go!"
    4) the well-known "paaaam"

    But frequently, I only hear "click" and... Well, Mac doesn't turn on. Even the fan doesn't spin. When this occurs, I turn off the surge-protector in which the energy cables from my Mac and my display are connected and try again, say, 30 minutes later. This problem occurs even with the energy cables connected on wall sockets.

    Last year, in November, as my machine stopped turning on, I took it (to the store in which I had bought it) for technical assistance. No problem was found. They simply cleaned the dust on it.

    Back to home, Mac seemed to be fixed, but one month later, the issue reappeared. Recently I opened it and cleaned the dust. For 4 days, Mac turned on just fine, but then again...

    During my research, I've noticed that many Mac users have problems in turning on their machines, but I have never found an answer. Another problem shared with those users is that this issue is kind of "inconsistent": sometimes it happens, sometimes it doesn't. So people took their Macs and, when tested by the assistance service, machines work just fine. =/

    Does anyone knows why my Mac Pro has this problem? It's driving me nuts! Is it really dust? A contact problem with the power button? How can I clean the back of the power button?

    I've read somewhere that maybe this problem is caused by a misfunction of a device of the logic card. Is it true? Can I replace only this device, because the logic card is kind of expensive?

    Well, that's all.

    Thank you everyone.

    (think I've posted in the right place)
     
  2. chocolate632 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    #2
    Your RAM could be loose. This happened to my iMac after i played around with the RAM and didn't secure it back properly.

    Try taking it out and putting it back in and see if that helps
     
  3. cmaier macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #3
    It kind of sounds like a power supply problem, but I dunno for sure.
     
  4. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #4
    I second the power supply - I was messing around with the power cords leading from my power supply, and if they're not properly seated the machine will just click and do nothing. My dad and I had to pull the cover off (and that wasn't very easy, at least if you've never done it before) of the power supply to do that.
     
  5. cmaier macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #5
    I just had a power supply go out on my homebuilt windows box (I'm a mac guy, but I built a huge tower a few years back because I designed microprocessors at AMD, and they gave me a free chip because I designed it :). Very similar symptoms. I was about to replace it with a mac pro (waiting for the end of the month for any new announcements, of course), but I decided to see if replacing the power supply would fix it - for sentimental reasons. It took only about 20 minutes to replace the power supply (since I built the system, I had a head start - even though my wiring skills sucked and it was a massive tangle inside the box). Solved the problem.

    I'll still get a mac pro if they announce 2x6 cores soon, though :)
     
  6. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
  7. Max(IT) Suspended

    Max(IT)

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Location:
    Italy
    #7
    I had a similar problem with a PC, 3 or 4 years ago, and it was the power section of the motherboard, not the PSU ...
     
  8. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #8
    It's possible, but the PSU needs to be checked out first, as it's a more likely suspect. It happens to be cheaper than a logic board, if there's no real way to test it out (no spares of any kind or electronic bench to do a load test). ;)
     
  9. bozz2006 macrumors 68030

    bozz2006

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #9
    Try an SMC reset. You can read about it here.

    The steps for how to do it on a Mac Pro:

    Shut down the computer.
    Unplug the computer's power cord and all peripherals.
    Press and hold the power button for 5 seconds.
    Release the power button.
    Attach the computers power cable.
    Press the power button to turn on the computer.
     

Share This Page