Mac Pro Dual-Core Intel Xeon 2x2.66 Upgrade

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Dark Phoenix, Sep 15, 2013.

  1. Dark Phoenix macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2013
    #1
    So I am relatively new to this site so please forgive me if this has already been answered. I currently have a Mac Pro 1,1 2x2.66 processor. Now that their are 12 cores out there, I was thinking I could upgrade my processors to maybe 2x4 core or even 2x6 core. Just not certain as to how or what to get... HELP! :confused:

    Please advise if this is even possible and what to do...
     
  2. Macsonic macrumors 65816

    Macsonic

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Location:
    Earth
    #2
    If your machine is the Ist gen 2006, I think there are no 12 core processors compatible to that model unless I am mistaken. The 12 core CPUs start at the Xeon 5600 series and higher models. Your logicboard also has a different spec and may not accomodate certain CPUs. Sorry if my inputs are not on a positive note.
     
  3. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #3
    Masonic is correct. Both the the 1,1 and 2,1 Mac Pro utilize Woodcrest or Clovertown CPUs which have an LGA-771 socket. The 5500 and 5600 series Xeon CPUs which fit in the 4,1 and 5,1 machines utilize a later CPU design that utilize the LGA-1366 socket.

    Lou
     
  4. Mr. Zarniwoop macrumors demi-god

    Mr. Zarniwoop

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    #4
    You can upgrade to quad-core "Clovertown" CPUs, either the X5355 or X5365, so you'd have an 8-core Mac Pro.

    Some people have reported very minor problems that are resolved by upgrading the SMC firmware from the 2007 Mac Pro (2,1) which had identical hardware but included Intel microcode for quad-core CPUs as it shipped with the X5365.
     
  5. troutweed macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Location:
    Hobart, Australia
    #5
    Hi Dark Phoenix. Welcome. This forum is a treasure trove of info for these sorts of projects.

    I did this upgrade last year, and found the thread below contained all the info you need. Very informative.

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=745426

    It's a really worthwhile upgrade.

    I also put in an SSD and 5770 graphics card. Great machine.

    Good luck!
     
  6. sphoenix77 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    #6
    Wow! Tons of information. I got dizzy reading it. LOL! The video is great and I already bought the parts to turn my Mac Pro 1,1 from a 2x 2.66 Dual Core to a 2x 3.0 Quad core!

    However, it brings up other questions. I read that most things are going 64 bit and the Mac Pro 1,1 runs 32 bit and may become obsolete? Is there a firmware update to make it 64 bit? Please advise.
     
  7. comatory macrumors 6502a

    comatory

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    #7
    you cant make it 64 bit, although technically it is. Apple never bothered to update firmware for these old Mac Pros.

    but you can easily install new version of OS by tricking the installer. I believe the tool is called Multibeast - it will treat your computer as another PC but it will let you install the newest OS versions. personally, I'd go for it, you can always revert back.
     
  8. Dark Phoenix thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2013
    #8
    Thanks for the information. I looked up Multibeast and found this:

    http://tonymacx86.blogspot.com/2010/02/multibeast-ultimate-post-installation.html

    Is this the program? I'm very curious about how it would trick an installer and how it would be needed. I'm running 10.7.5 on my desktop. Would 10.8 or 10.9 require Multibeast to install on my computer?
     
  9. comatory macrumors 6502a

    comatory

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    #9
    ok it was either this or Chimera/Chameleon bootloader. I never used it and never built mackintosh but I know people use this process to load newest OSes on old Mac Pro's. Someone around here should give you more info.

    Check this: http://www.jabbawok.net/?p=47
     

Share This Page