Mac Pro (Early 2009) Firmware Update 1.4

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by smacman, Jan 18, 2010.

  1. smacman macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    #1
  2. rjheys macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    #2
    I can't get it to install. I press shut down, hold the power button till the light flashes several times but then it just boots up normally and tells me I still need to install the update. It never gets as far as "A grey screen then appears and a status bar indicates the progress of the update" like it says it should.
     
  3. BillB50 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Bucks County, Pennsylvania
    #3
    Just applied - it took two attempts but finally installed....will check the audio now...

    No dice - seeing the same temps as those over the weekend - running on-board audio. Temps tonight climbed to 46 C after 15 minutes of audio playback.
     
  4. Pika macrumors 68000

    Pika

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #4
    Hold down the power button guys!!! Till you ear a biiiiiipp.
     
  5. Strobe macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    #5
    Worked on the first attempt for me. I don't see anything different with temps when using onboard audio, but they don't list that as a fix anyway.
     
  6. Cynicalone macrumors 68040

    Cynicalone

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Location:
    Okie land
    #6
    I would say it did nothing but it seems worse. This is after being away from home for 3 hours, and only 15 minutes of music. :-/
     

    Attached Files:

  7. jetjaguar macrumors 68030

    jetjaguar

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Location:
    somewhere
    #7
    cpu A for me hits like 52 .. cpu B stays in the high 30s
     
  8. smacman thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    #8
    So yet another missed opportunity to fix the issue.. I guess until they are willing to open their eyes and agree that this is abnormal, there is no chance.

    On a different note, what was the likely purpose of this update? I find it hard to believe that they would update the firmware just for Windows XP performance...
     
  9. Strobe macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    #9
    I am hoping it affects boot camp storage performance in general and not just XP. I have Windows 7 Pro installed on boot camp and my file transfers take forever sometimes and other times go really fast. They seem to randomly freeze and stutter a lot even when going from internal to internal drives. I know Windows 7 isn't supported or whatever, but everything else works great except those pesky file transfers. Fortunately, I don't know when I plan on using the boot camp partition again other than updating my Garmin or playing a Windows only game.
     
  10. VirtualRain macrumors 603

    VirtualRain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #10
    According to Apple:
    Sad that it doesn't help with the audio temps, but there's still hope for that fix in a future OS update as it may be just a driver issue.

    Perhaps it will also address the issue with Intel G2 drives in RAID on 10.6.2?

    I suspect they also stealthily opted to include a microcode update to enable our 2009 Mac Pro's to run Gulftown?! :p
     
  11. playalistic macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    #11
    Eek. What issues are there with raid G2s? As thats what I have just done :/
     
  12. AZREOSpecialist macrumors 68000

    AZREOSpecialist

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    #12
    Perhaps I'm hoping for too much, but is it possible this firmware update carries with it microcode updates as well for use with Intel's forthcoming 6-core processors? Is there any way the firmware package can be inspected for CPU-related strings, etc?
     
  13. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #13
    Very doubtful.

    It's a binary data file, so No. You'd have to be able to de-compile it (returns it back to a language, such as Assembly).
     
  14. gugucom macrumors 68020

    gugucom

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Location:
    Munich, Germany
    #14
    I have just applied the upgrade successfully. I'm now cloning the HDD on a Gen2 RAID0 array. We will probably know in the next week if it cured the issue.
     
  15. antmo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    #15
    there's a command-line utility called "strings" which will print all the ascii strings found in a binary file. even though it is binary, string literals (things like hardware id's, etc) are typically preserved as ascii "string" data and will print...
     

Share This Page