Mac Pro equivalent PC?? Hmm

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by brobins, Jun 13, 2009.

1. brobins macrumors member

Hi there,

I am soon to be in the market for a new computer...

I work as a Digital Artist and use Dell Xeon based PC's to run high end 3D Animation and compositing packages such as 3ds Max and After Effects etc, however I have owned a G4 PowerMac MDD at home for the last 5 years or so and it has been wonderful! I really like Apples OS and applications and I dont know if I really want to go PC 'full time'.

The problem really is price, I would love a mac pro but they start getting outrageously expensive when you bump up the Ram.

I am interested in building an i7 based PC full of Ram and HDD space, really high spec and running both Windows and OS X on it! I have read that you can now run OS X on Intel based PC's..

What I am basically asking is, Will this work? Are there any things I should be aware of if doing this?

Should I just save up and buy a Mac Pro? lol

Many Thanks

2. iamcheerful macrumors 6502

iamcheerful

get a good enough PC to work on enough jobs to earn yourself a desired Mac Pro.

this way, you have best of both worlds.

3. brobins thread starter macrumors member

Hi, thanks for your reply!

That doesn't make much sense to me as a 'good enough PC' would cost me around £800? Which I would only have to use for a one two/three week 'job' to earn enough for a Mac Pro, then Id be stuck with 2 computers and effectively wasted £800!

The problem isn't not being able to afford a Mac Pro its being slightly disgruntled that I could build a PC with faster components and more Ram for roughly £300 cheaper than a Mac Pro with 8GB Ram.. I am trying really hard to justify the extra cost. It was easier back in the G days but now they are Intel, it is easier to compare them to PC workstations for cost and performance.

I guess I am here to see if anyone has successfully ran OS X on a PC and if so did they come across any problems at all?

Many Thanks