Mac Pro experts, I have system sensor error

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Jardins de Vin, Nov 2, 2014.

  1. Jardins de Vin, Nov 2, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 7, 2014

    Jardins de Vin macrumors 6502a

    Jardins de Vin

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    Location:
    Europe
    #1
    When running the AHT test, my Mac is showing an error.
    I've decoded the error, and it tells me the culprit is the system sensor for temperature in the memory/memory riser boards.

    Anyone have an idea where these are?

    I heard there's such sensors in RAM sticks, should I perhaps just swap them? I don't have any other RAM to test here at the moment.
     
  2. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #2
    The temp. sensor is actually on the DIMM module itself.
     
  3. Jardins de Vin thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Jardins de Vin

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    Location:
    Europe
    #3
    That's what I assumed. Let's say it was really the case that the sensors on the modules are damaged, would I still be able to start the mac, or would it tell me the ram is faulty? Because I can start and use it without problems.
     
  4. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #4
    Any particular reason you needed to run AHT?
    Did you encounter some problems with your MP?

    Regarding temp sensor: if you see its reading in iStat (or similar) and it isn't extremely high or low (comparing to other modules), then you don't have to worry.
     
  5. Jardins de Vin thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Jardins de Vin

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    Location:
    Europe
    #5
    I bought the Mac and first thing I did was run the test to make sure it's all okay. Since it shows an error, it isn't. Else I believe it runs normally. It's a bit loud sometimes, not because of the video card fans, but because of other fans. Probably because the temperature sensors are not working, it runs the fans faster than it should.
    Also I heard artefacts through the audio output but that's a different and probably unrelated story.
     
  6. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #6
    If it would be memory temp sensor, your intake and exhaust fans would run faster. Check if it isn't expansion slots and/or PSU fan. These would run faster with some PC or flashed graphics cards. Sometimes with Mac Edition ones as well. Use iStat or similar monitoring app. Normal speed is about 600 rpm for intake and exhaust and 800 for expansion slots fan.
     
  7. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #7
    I'm sorry, I just don't know. I have not had a Pro in years and kind of lost touch with the ins and outs of their hardware.
     
  8. reco2011 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    #8
    What model Mac Pro are you experiencing this issue with? Is it the 2011 (???) Mac Pro you have listed in your signature? You say "riser boards" so this leads me to believe it's a 1,1, 2,1, or 3,1. How much memory is installed and what is the configuration? What is the brand of memory?

    One of the first steps of troubleshooting is the process of elimination. If you have enough memory modules where you can remove some I would recommend doing so to see if, after removing some, the problem disappears.
     
  9. mikeboss macrumors 65816

    mikeboss

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Location:
    switzerland
    #9
    AFAIR the riser boards of the 1,1 / 2,1 & 3,1 do also have temperature sensors, not just the FB-DIMMs.
     
  10. Jardins de Vin, Nov 7, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2014

    Jardins de Vin thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Jardins de Vin

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    Location:
    Europe
    #10
    It was built in late January 2011 in Ireland so I guess it's a 5,1? Yes it's the one in my signature.

    I'll test the fans later, and I have a 7950 Mac Edition, but that's not the problem, because I hear some fans running, but there's no air coming out of the PCIe bay, so it isn't from the card. But perhaps it's normal, I was just used to computers that are more quiet before. I'll still check out the fans.

    I believe it's the RAM, but it might be the slots too. I did following tests. I have 2 x 16 GB in the Mac, I removed one of the bars, leaving only 16 GB. I ran the AHT only with this bar, then with the other. The same result came out. My error started with 4SNS, which states a sensor error. Then came TMA1. T stands for temperature, M for Memory OR Memory riser boards. After having switched the RAM bars, changed the slots, ran the AHT again and so on and so on, I figured what the rest means. "A" stands for the side of the RAM Bay. There's 4 slots at the front, 4 at the back. "A" are the front RAM slots (where the door is), "B" would be the one at the back. The number after that letter stands for the slot itself, but it only goes up to 4, not 8 as marked inside the MP. Instead, if slot 6 is meant, it will show up as B2 for example.

    So while experimenting, I got all kinds of results - TMA2, TMB1, TMB3, etc. - basically, wherever I moved the RAM, it would show this error. Pretty sure it's the same therefore. It's sad because I sent the Mac back to Germany and the seller changed the whole logic board apparently. I haven't tested all of the RAM slots, but one (which was number 4 at the back) wouldn't let me start the Mac. The light was blinking, apparently it means faulty RAM or something.
     

Share This Page