Mac Pro Firewire Ports

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by capoeiraguri, Apr 21, 2008.

  1. capoeiraguri macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    #1
    The mac pro only has 2 400 and 2 800 ports. and I was wondering if there was a way to get more, or split them. I have a lot of externals and an isight, etc.

    Or maybe a solution is daisy-chaining harddrives, does anyone know anything about this, or how to do it.. I'm afraid to experiment with my data.

    Thanks a bunch.
     
  2. filman408 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    #2
    Um... PCI Express card
     
  3. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
  4. kgarner macrumors 68000

    kgarner

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Location:
    Utah
    #4
    Daisy chaining works fine. I had 2 drives hooked up to my Mini via daisy chaining before upgrading to the Mac Pro (now I have 1 drive on each) and it worked fine. I even would hook up the DV Camcorder to the end of the daisy chain when I needed to capture some video and it worked fine too.
     
  5. rockinrocker macrumors 65816

    rockinrocker

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    #5
    just make sure you don't daisy chain to much stuff that's bus powered.
     
  6. treehorn macrumors 6502

    treehorn

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    #6
    I'd advise getting a PCI card.

    But before you buy anything, do some reading on each of your peripherals to make sure there are no hidden surprises (I have a Firebox, for instance, and it turns out that A) it doesn't work with USB/Firewire card combos and B) doesn't work with a certain chip...of course I initially bought a card that broke both of those 'rules')

    With hard drives there's no problems (that I've ever encountered or heard about at least) but it wouldn't hurt to read requirements/warnings on odd peripherals (like audio or video equipment)
     
  7. supercooled macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    #7
    Pathetic.

    It gives you the impression that Apple is abandoning the Firewire standard the way they're treating it. Isn't FW800 backwards compatible? Why even include FW400 anymore.

    Are generic PCI-e SATA expansion cards compatible or do I need some fancy one with special drivers?
     
  8. offshoresa65s macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2008
    #8
    Hi

    I have a new MACPRO 2.8 GHZ machine.

    I've always used an extra PCI Firewire card in my old G4 Mac. Helped to capture video to ext Firewire drives as Mac's can't / don't deal with two devices on the same internal firewire bus.

    From research there are two types of PCI-e card available that extends your Firewire capabilities on the MacPro.

    One has a chipset that is designed / developed by SiiG and another that uses a Texas Instruments chipset.

    If you do a Google search for "MaPro firewire 800 PCI-e card" you'll end up finding both, at various sites.

    It's a little confusing at times as those sites that sell the card that uses SiiG chipsets say -> compatible with MacPro, but then qualify the compatibility by saying, often, not compatible with Quad Core Chips.

    I emailed SiiG and they said that that any PCIe card you find on a site with the confusing info, will work in a MacPro 8-core mac.

    In the end i went for this card as there is no confusion with any compatibility issues:http://www.synchrotech.com/products-pcie/pcie-firewire-800_01.html

    Anyway, I've installed this card and it works. I really wanted a card that gave me 3 x Firewire 800 ports, but it seems that 2 x 800 and 1 x 400 external ports is about the best you'll find on the market.

    I've installed it in Slot 3 and I've installed a HighPoint RocketRaid 2314 ESATA card in Slot 4.

    Anyway do a search and se what you can ind out there, mine works fine.

    Chers

    O
     
  9. network23 macrumors 6502

    network23

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2002
    Location:
    Illinois
    #9
    Any reason why no one is mentioning Firewire hubs? I have one and it works great.
     
  10. capoeiraguri thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    #10
    Why would you put it on the 3rd and 4th slots instead of the 1st or second?
     
  11. killmoms macrumors 68040

    killmoms

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #11
    Seriously, just get a powered Firewire hub. I'm not sure I understand the issue here.

    And yes, daisy-chaining works fine, Firewire was designed for it from day one.
     
  12. pprior macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    #12
    Agree - that's what I did.
     

Share This Page