Mac Pro for engineering?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by CntrlENG224, Aug 10, 2007.

1. CntrlENG224 macrumors newbie

Hey all newbie here looking for some tested advice. I have had it up here with my Dell PC here at work. I almost have approval to switch my entire company to mac. ( this took a lot of work) My question is will a mac pro be sutable to run my apps through a VMWare or Parallels? AutoCad 08' is the most used program and is opened when I arrive to work and doesnt close until I leave. Its mostly 2D electrical drawings, however I do also make 3D drawings that are gonna require some serious graphics power. The other apps that I run arn't so power hungry but I do a lot of logic controller programming and I am a little apprehensive about driver issues when i try to program a controller through a com port under a virtulization software option.

So what do you guys think. I know i am prob gonna have to upgrade from the stock graphics card and dump about 2 more gigs of ram into it but other than that do you think a stock 2.66 Ghz model will acomplish this? Is anyone out there running a similar setup that has some insight?

Thanks again for any and all help

2. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

Mackilroy

Hmm. If you're running AutoCad 2008, it probably wouldn't be too much of a performance hit, as I've used AutoCad on both high-end PCs with a powerful graphics card and on my MacBook and the MacBook seemed about as fast as the PCs. Neither virtual solution is perfect, as they can't virtualize a graphics card, but you'll at least be able to get the most out of the processors. Maybe as a test case you could get one or two Mac Pros, install Parallels and Windows and then AutoCad, run it and see how you like it?

3. CntrlENG224 thread starter macrumors newbie

cool thanks for the info. Things would be so much easier if autodesk would just make a mac version as they have already done with maya, Oh well.

4. ironic23 macrumors 6502