Mac Pro for simple DAW usage ? (SSD & monitor question)

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by preservation82, Jan 5, 2016.

  1. preservation82 macrumors newbie

    preservation82

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    #1
    hi folks. first post here. have been out of the loop for a LONG TIME regarding all things Mac. bear with me please as i might need some hand-holding.

    my mid-2007 20" iMac has been chugging along just fine- running El Capitan without an issue - except for when it comes to using Reaper or Reason, my DAWs of choice. i think this is because i've got:
    2GHz intel core duo, 3GB 667 DDR2 ram, and 250gb HD.
    -----

    i've never used a Mac Pro, but had lots of music-friends urge me to look into one instead of just going to the Apple store and buying a new iMac. sure, why not ? after all, it won't set me back $1300+ and the specs could be nicer than what Apple is offering in their entry-level iMacs. these friends are also telling me that new Macs can be much harder (if not impossible) to upgrade.

    now it seems i've got a great line on an affordable Mac Pro:
    [​IMG]
    TADA !

    "Two 2.8GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon Processors (8 cores) 8 GB installed memory 500 GB Hard Drive 16x SuperDrive Bluetooth, WI-FI, OS 10.11 EL CAPITAN. "

    there's room to upgrade RAM, and room to put in an SSD which, i'm told, is the best thing since sliced bread.
    apparently i absolutely must do it.
    if i must, then, how can i find the right 250 or 500GB SSD to work with this Mac Pro ? is it a simple process to clone the disc drive and dump it onto an empty SSD ?

    next, i'm totally unfamiliar with what sort of monitor i'd need. Amazon has loads of really nice LED monitors for under $200, and i'd like to stay at or under that price point. does this mean i need to go w/ VGA, HDMI, or what ? the video card in the Mac Pro is an "ATI Radeon 256MB" - is this OK ? if not, should i upgrade it ? if so, to what ? i won't be doing games or watching movies on this - just general internetz and DAW stuff.

    is there hope for me ? am i venturing down the right path ?
    my needs are simple and my heart is open.
    teach me.
     
  2. DPUser macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
  3. Parigot macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Location:
    Montreal
    #3
    Based on the firewire ports in the photo, it is not a 4,1 or 5,1. Probably a 3,1 based on the CPU specs.
     
  4. merlinmage macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    #4
    Which I wouldn't buy at this point. 4,1 atleast.
     
  5. Zwhaler macrumors 603

    Zwhaler

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    #5
    Be weary of pre-4,1 models. They do not have the upgrade flexibility of the 2009 and 2010/2012 models. I use a 2010 with Logic Pro X and lots of audio related gear/plugs. Mac Pro requires you to get your own monitor, which can be several hundred dollars at least for a good one. An iMac might not be the worst idea in your situation. If you can find a good deal on a 4,1 or 5,1 go for it. Upgrade the RAM to 16GB at least and make sure there is a decent GPU in there. SSDs can be had for around $100-$150 for ~500GB. If you have any additional questions please post.
     
  6. preservation82 thread starter macrumors newbie

    preservation82

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    #7
    thanks guys- ditched the idea of an old Mac Pro for a 2011 17" MBP. it has two drives (one is ssd), i5 processor, and i can upgrade the RAM for cheap. i'm sure it'll be great for my simple recording needs.
     

Share This Page