Mac Pro for Video Editting

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by MaveZX, Jan 19, 2008.

1. MaveZX macrumors newbie

I am looking to buy my first mac pro finally. I am primarily a video editor running Final Cut Studio, Avid Express Pro, Nuendo, Logic Studio, Shake, Photoshop, After Effects, and some various other programs. I do a lot of still photography as well but not my main concern. I do like to play video games and what not when my time allows it but this machine is primarily for work . I am wondering what is the best set up to go with. I am one who usually in the past buys the best of the best, but we all know with the Mac Pro that can be a ridiculous amount of money. I am willing to spend the money on the system to make sure that it is going to be everything I need and last a long time.

I know I defiantly want an 8 core machine but wondering if spending the extra money for the faster procs is really worth it when rendering out video and shake flows. Was originally thinking 4GB of Ram, but wondering if I Should go 8GB instead or more. The Hard Drives have me in a bit of situation with video taking up so much space obviously the more capacity I have the better but I am curious about 300GB 15,000rpm SAS drives. The Raid card sounds potentially interesting but wonder if it is just overkill. I like that fact that it may offer a decent back up protection if anything fails while under the gun trying to meet a deadline and that it may also slightly improve performance. The Graphics card I am pretty much set on the 8800GT so no worries there. The last thing is the cinema displays originally I was going to get two 23inch displays but now I am debating if I should hold out till they are updated or go with one 30inch display instead. Two displays is kind of nicer when you have clients over to view stuff and it would be a shame to run my nice new machine on my smaller 19inch Samsung I have now.