Mac Pro Freezes/Slow downs - In Desperate need of help

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by ildondeigiocchi, Mar 3, 2010.

  1. ildondeigiocchi macrumors 6502a

    ildondeigiocchi

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Location:
    Montreal
    #1
    Ok guys so here's the issue. I upgraded my system in December with an Intel X-25M 80GB SSD boot drive and a 1.5 TB WD Green 7200RPM drive on which my home folder is found. Everything was running extremely smoothly until early February when the system began to slow down tremendously with loads of beachballs and freezes. During boot up I would sometimes get a blue screen lasting 2-3min after the apple logo and before dock appears. In order to shut down I would have to hit shut down 3-4 times before system would do so. Order of Disks seemed to keep changing and overall system performance was very poor. I have Windows 7 running on the machine on a dedicated 80GB Intel SSD also and while having all these problems in SL, Win7 was running like a jewel thus meaning this is an OSX related problem. I called Applecare and they made me do an archive install which seemed to solve the problem but it was short lived.

    After returning from a two week vacation, I realized that the problem was back and worse this time. I did a PRAM reset and memory reset but seemingly these had no effect. I gave applecare support a call back and they were very nice. The agent helped me perform some tests which helped prove that my problem was with my user account which was cloned from an initial HDD from the move from Leopard to Snow Leopard. So we created a new account and home folder on the secondary drive and then copied and pasted the contents of the old home folder in the new home folder. Although this seemed to resolve the problems for a couple of hours, the problems with freezing are back. Moreover, my secondary HDD (1.5TB) seems to be unmounting randomly and not letting me log into my primary admin account all the time, thus making me believe that it is failing. I have an external 2TB time machine HDD set up. So my question is the following. How do I proceed?

    I love my Mac Pro but over the last month or so it's been a real pain to use. I find myself using win7 on the system more often as it runs so stable and smooth. I really need help with this issue. Any advice is welcome.
     
  2. ildondeigiocchi thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ildondeigiocchi

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Location:
    Montreal
  3. akadmon macrumors 68010

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    New England
  4. ildondeigiocchi thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ildondeigiocchi

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Location:
    Montreal
    #4
    I just ran Techtool Deluxe and this is the result I get back for my SSD. Otherwise all other HDDs prove fine.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. smacman macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    #5
    What is exactly is the result that Techtool is reporting??
     
  6. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #6
    Are you sure the tool is optimized to work with SSD"s though?

    It also appears that the "Failed/Skipped" sections are for mechanical disks.
     
  7. ildondeigiocchi thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ildondeigiocchi

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Location:
    Montreal
    #7
    That's the problem, I think this tool is not accurate as it was put on the market in 2006 long before SSDs were on the mainstream market. Is there any other way I can narrow down the problem without having to take in the Mac Pro into the Apple store.
     
  8. t0mat0 macrumors 603

    t0mat0

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Location:
    Home
    #8
    Are you running Snow Leopard or Leopard?
    I've seen this as a percentage of cases for MBPs, but not Mac Pros recently.
    Having currently got a similar issue - have you looked at how much free space is on your drives (and also making sure there are backups)?

    So
    1) For the love of Appley things, test your backup, make sure it's working. get a store of your serial numbers, keys, passwords, keychain, backups of important files etc. Carbonite or others might be good to look at.

    The Caviar Green can run a lot slower in comparison to an SSD -if you're doing any torrenting, or moving lots of files around on it with little overhead that might affect it. Something like DiskWarrior, or iDefrag might help solve or identify the issue - but again you need a backup in place really before using those. An Apple store will run diagnostics on the drive, but they'd likely be similar to Disk Warrior/iDefrag. (OS X only defrags files <20MB in size - (I was shocked when I heard that!).

    Might be worth checking out if it persists - a certain percentage will get issues like this that then lead to HD failure. Anyway, going into Apple tomorrow for somethinng similar, so will ask about anyone else having similar issues.
     
  9. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #9
    It might be your OS X SSD.
    Before carrying that machine into an Apple Store (btw: Apple care sends out an technician if your in reach of a store, so you actually don't need to bring it to a store yourself), I'd check if your system works with another disc.

    So grab another drive (SSD or mechanical drive, something you've got lying around somewhere) and clone your current boot partition from the SSD to that disc. I recommend Carbon Copy Cloner.
    If that does not solve your problem, than I'd erase the SSD completely, make a clean install on it and check if the systems works as it's supposed to before copying older stuff on that drive.
     
  10. badlight macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    #10
    I have had the same issues with my Mac Pro early 2008. No SSD on board. I was running Tech Tool, which helpfully tries to back up your back-ups if Time Machine is running. This filled up my 1 TB TM disk and resulted in lots of beachballs.

    Removing Techtool had improved matters, but still encountering sporadic slowdowns and occasional complete lock-ups. Safari 4.0.4 seems to be implicated, as was Aperture 2.1. Have just upgraded to Aperture 3.0.1 which looks to have made things a bit better.

    I'm pointing the finger at OSX 10.6.2. Roll on 10.6.3. Like the OP, Windows 7 runs painlessly under Bootcamp. No issues with 10.6.2 on Mac Mini.
     
  11. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #11
    You could try a clean OS install, and see if that improves matters. That said, 10.6.2 has been problematic (particularly with RAID; software or hardware implementations). :( So it acting up with other disks, including SSD (I seem to recall others having issues with SSD + 10.6.2) isn't a stretch IMO.
     
  12. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #12
    IIRC gugucom had problems with a striped set of SSDs on an Areca and 10.6.2.
    But if I got it right, the OP doesn't use a RAID of any case, so that shouldn't be an issue.
    10.6.2 seems to be fine for most people using SSDs, at least I haven't heard complaints from people using single SSDs and the latest OS update (provided that they don't use any third party controllers).

    My Pro works like a charm with 10.6.2 and an Intel SSD as boot, plus software RAID arrays. I don't see any reason why it should not work on the OPs machine. :confused:
     
  13. ildondeigiocchi thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ildondeigiocchi

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Location:
    Montreal
    #13
    I'm running snow leopard 10.6.2 and have more than enough free space available on all disks. My 1.5tb only has 300GB used and the SSD only has 25GB of the 80GB used.


    Running a single SSD for boot drive. The other SSD is dedicated completely for Win7 which is working great.

    Yup Transporteur, my system only has one SSD and from my knowledge people are only having issues with Raid and SSDs under 10.6.2

    I haven't been running Tech Tool in the background. Just been using it to see if there is any problems. However, most of my issues do root from Safari and Aperture along with iMovie on occasion. My external HDD is far from being filled though.
     
  14. ildondeigiocchi thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ildondeigiocchi

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Location:
    Montreal
    #14
    So at this point, I'm wondering would a clean install of Snow Leopard be my best option?
     
  15. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #15
    I know the OP doesn't have RAID.

    gugucom had an odd situation compared to most, as he wanted to run an array for each OS. It has to do with firmware, as even with the RAID card taking over the duty for OS X, he couldn't get a software set working for Windows.

    But 10.6.2 has caused issues with his (and other cards), as well as software based arrays.

    I even recall some with single SSD's were having issues, and is why I mentioned all of this (drive related, so I see a connection). Worst case, there's useless additional information. ;) :p

    I do recall issues posted, but it may have been a bad drive or model (firmware doesn't play well with OS X).

    Good to hear. :D Perhaps what I'm remembering is an anomaly, not the norm. :)
     
  16. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #16
    As I said, I wouldn't do a clean install in the first place. Copying your current installation to a new drive might solve the problem. In that case, your SSD might well be the reason for your faulty system.
    If that doesn't work, then yes, you should try a clean install.

    Let's hope for the best. :D
     
  17. ildondeigiocchi thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ildondeigiocchi

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Location:
    Montreal
    #17
    I do have a spare 640GB Hitachi HDD (stock from apple) completely free. I can try copying my ssd onto that. Just a quick question though... I want to restore my system to a certain date before I do so using my Time Machine backups since when I called Apple the agent made me delete my old user account and create a new one but data was lost in the process. I know I have to boot from the SL disk to do so but when it asks me to restore to a certain date it says my SSD doesnt have enough space. How can I restore my system to a certain backup date taking into consideration my old user account was deleted (NOT its home folder though) and the fact that I have a multiple HDD setup. I want my drive config to remain the same i.e. SSD boot and 1.5TB with home folder on it.
     
  18. rcgrabbag macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    #18
    This has nothing to do with your problem, but your avatar is hilarious...
     
  19. ildondeigiocchi thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ildondeigiocchi

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Location:
    Montreal
    #19
    LOL... Thanks I like it alot :D
     
  20. GMink macrumors regular

    GMink

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    #20
    Since you have a spare drive try this:

    1)Use carbon copy or other imaging program to image your OSX boot drive to your spare.
    2)Boot into windows
    3)format the SSD partion that has your OSX boot as NTFS
    4)run Intel Optimizer from windows on the new NTFS SSD partion
    5)Boot to your imaged (spare drive) OSX
    6)Format the SSD partition back to HFS+
    7)Restore the Boot drive image back to the SSD

    If that doesn't set things right then your probably in order for a fresh install of OSX
     
  21. t0mat0 macrumors 603

    t0mat0

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Location:
    Home
    #21
    Is it worthwhile/ok to do a surface scan on an SSD - Seems the tech tool automatically skips that test unless specified in the menu options.
     
  22. ildondeigiocchi thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ildondeigiocchi

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Location:
    Montreal
    #22
    Thanks for the reply. You've been a great help. Just one question though... I've tried formatting drives while in Bootcamp before and it never allowed me to do so, saying that the drive is in use and that such an operation could not be performed even though I wasn't using that particular drive (stock Apple 640GB HDD) at the time. Anyways I'll give it a try again. How do I access the Intel Optimizer tool?
     
  23. XARIUSOUND macrumors newbie

    XARIUSOUND

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Location:
    Tokyo | SF, NY, LA
    #23
    Mac 1,1 Osx Freeze

    experiencing similar symptoms. freeze upon various use (high usage/low usage applications)

    Mac OSX (Snow Leopard)
    22GB RAM (DDR2)
    128 Kingston SSD (Boot Drive)
    1.5TB WD
    1TB WD 7200 RPM
    1TB WD 7200 RPM

    has anyone found a solution to this? I have tried re-seating the RAM, moved boot to and from SSD to 1TB HD.
     

Share This Page