Mac Pro, Freezing at Start Up.

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by bolugle, Jul 26, 2009.

1. bolugle macrumors newbie

Hello, I am pretty new to Mac's so sorry for the stupidity. I tried doing a search but, couldn't find anything. I am terrible with forums, also. Anyway..

Recently i've had some serious issues with my Mac Pro. It started while I was using Boot Camp. I decided to install Boot Camp onto my computer to play games with some old school friends. (I normally use my computer for work / dinking around with photoshop.) Well anyway, I download a game (Team Fortress 2), start it up and instantly have graphical issues which make my computer freeze.

Once my computer froze I had to force a restart. The computer restarts fine and gets to the windows desktop, then without me doing anything instantly restarts all by itself, I had not touched anything. So I decide to start up in Mac OS.

Getting here I thought everything was fine. But then, after opening Safari to try and figure out what had just happened to my computer Mac OS freezes. The strange thing is, I was able to move my mouse around even though everything else was "frozen". I am forced to restart again. Except now when trying to restart my computer freezes while Mac OS is loading. (Grey Screen, "spinning dot circle" <--- awesome description?)

I've tried getting the mac OS to run in "safe mode" with out success.

I am fairly certain my computer is no longer under warranty. Have I just created for myself a very expensive doorstop? :rolleyes:

I apologize for the long and grammatically flawed rambling. But, I am really at a loss. Any help would be appreciated. Thank you.

2. gugucom macrumors 68020

gugucom

It sounds like you have a Mac Pro but even that is not clear from your description.

You better tell us what hardware and software you are using.

There are a number of things one can do to trouble shoot a Mac, but it is generally better to know what you have in detail.