Mac pro gonna die?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Bilalo, Sep 2, 2012.

  1. Bilalo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    Location:
    Oxford, England
    #1
    Do you think Mac Pro's will be discontinues like mbp 17"?
    I think it should be redesigned into something half as big as it is now and weigh less. Id be sad to see it go away to be honest,
     
  2. DanielCoffey macrumors 65816

    DanielCoffey

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    #2
    This has been discussed a couple of times before...

    Search?
     
  3. steveOooo macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    Yes - it will be replaced with the new resolutionairy macprobook 18incher with dual whatever super drive.
     
  4. avemestr macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    #4
    Okay, I'll bite.

    Why should it be redesigned into something half as big?

    Redesigning it to something half as big equals killing the Mac Pro.
     
  5. bax2003 macrumors 6502a

    bax2003

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
    #5
    People who need workstation like mac pro:

    1. need processing power: 6+ cores, xeons still needs good cooling, which if you want to be quiet it has to have big cooler meaning big body and quiet fan;

    2. need storage: min 4 full 3.5 inch HDD bays: thunderbolt storage is still expensive, and it is not very portable. one 3TB 3.5 HDD is very easy to take out from mac pro and take; SDD is still not big or reliable enough.

    3. powerful GFX card - again, two slots, big cooler;

    4. powerful PSU....

    There is no more points needed to find out that apple just cant miniturize Mac Pro at this point in time.
     
  6. heisetax macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2004
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    #6
    Power supplies are already too small. I'd like to put in 2 AMD Radeon 7970 graphics cards. They both require 2 extra pci/e power connectors. But the current PSU only supplies 2. I am currently using a 3 year old 5870 & a 4-5 year old 3870 graphics cards. I usually use 4-5 displays, 3 of which are 30" 2560 X 1600 ones.

    Then to bring it up to date a I a 2 port USB 3 card with an additional 2 ports for eSATA III.The 4th slot has another graphics card, the Nvidia model in my old 1st gen Mac Pro, as it does not take an extra power connector. I actually am one of those that would like more slots, not less. The competition have more.

    I would think that 2-4 additional slots for SSDs or some extra fast 2.5" SAS drives. I had 4 hdd in my mid 2012 Mac Pro which is actually a mid 2010 Mac Pro. They're both version (5,1). I had 2 additional drives in the optical drive area. But the second one keeps me from having an optical drive. So more drive space is needed.

    Windows units in this class have 16 memory slots. Plus more SATA III hdd slots, PCI/e 3.0 slots, faster processors available. Plus they are the current version.

    Basically the Mac Pro is sorta of in limbo. The no upgrade but still selling it means we can still purchase one, but we still have to pay the same price as a Windows unit with the above additional capabilities plus more.

    My conclusion is that if Apple actually does make a new Mac Pro in 18 months or so we will need one that is at least as big as the current model. Smaller may be better with the many iToys, but not with the Mac Pro. The MacBook Pros have been split into an iToy model called a retina display model while the older MacBook Pros have been carried on with the new Ivy Bridge processors & USB 3. But with the removal of the 17" model, which is the smallest I will purchase, the built-in card slot went away as well as room for a second ThunderBolt port. There are adapters available to add many of these features, but then I have more pieces & almost as much weight as my Mac Pro.
     
  7. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #7
    Excellent. It will have about 20 Thunderbolt ports to compensate for the loss of expandability. And yeah that upgrade to 64GB of RAM will cost $50,000 and must be chosen time of ordering because it's soldered.
     

Share This Page