Mac Pro graphic card upgrade

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by fallenhitokiri, Jul 29, 2009.

1. fallenhitokiri macrumors newbie

Hi,

I'm new to the whole Apple hardware business. So maybe this is a stupid questions but after some research I didn't find an answer that convinced me.

I want to buy a Mac Pro for some video and image editing. I play World of Warcraft and I also want to run it on my Mac Pro. The Geforce 120 seems to be a bit too weak to run WoW at full resolution (I think I'll go with 2 Samsung screens (FullHD resolution)). The Radeon seems fine.
    But it seems like I could get my hands on a previous generation Mac Pro with a outdated graphic card.

So now my question: You can order a Geforce 285 for ~500€ in a Apple store. Other retails offer 285s for something around 250€. A Radeon for ~150€.
    Would it be possible to buy a card from - let's say - Asus and use it in my Mac without firmware patching, kext hacking and what else you can do to get a card working that finally delivers no performance and crash your system because OSX doesn't really support it?

regards
    Timo

2. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

BlueRevolution

You need to buy a Mac graphics card to use in a Mac.

I can't imagine why you'd think WoW wouldn't run well on a Mac Pro. I run it with all graphics settings maxed on my stock early 2008 iMac. (1680x1050) Your graphics card will be more than enough to play any extant game.

3. Cindori macrumors 68040

Cindori

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=713428

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=727778

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=751062

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=707745

Kextfiles or flashing does not in any way make your system unstable. Read some more.

A PC card will only work in Windows on Mac Pro unless modified.

With 4890, still getting only about 20-60fps with all maxed 1900x1200.

4. fallenhitokiri thread starter macrumors newbie

Thanks for your answers.