Mac Pro Graphics Card in G5 Power Mac??

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Fiercehairdo, May 22, 2009.

  1. Fiercehairdo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    #1
    Hi,

    I've just purchased an ATI Radeon HD 4870 graphics card for my mac pro. I now have the original graphics card for the Mac Pro spare, the ATI Radeon HD 2600 XT Graphics Card.

    I'm wondering if I can put the old Mac Pro card in my ageing G5 power Mac which currently has ATI Radeon 9600 Pro card? And will I see much improvement if I do?

    Thanks.
     
  2. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #4
    The card would need PPC drivers, and a big endian ROM for PPC ... aka, fat chance if it ain't a PPC Mac Edition card.
     
  3. 300D macrumors 65816

    300D

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Location:
    Tulsa
  4. awmazz macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    #6
    Simple explanation, your Mac Pro is PCIe and your G5 is AGP, so they have incompatible cards.
     
  5. 300D macrumors 65816

    300D

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Location:
    Tulsa
    #7
    Not simple at all. Many G5's have PCIe slots.
     
  6. awmazz macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    #8
    I believe I was being specific:

     
  7. OrangeSVTguy macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #9
    +1. The ATI Radeon 9600 Pro card in his G5 is an AGP card and won't accept any PCIe video card period.

    AFAIK, there are no Roms anyways that would allow the 2600XT to work in a PPC G5 even with the PCIe slot.
     
  8. netkas macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    #10
    In MacPro, you can use both 2600xt and 4870 at time, so 3 dvi and one MDP outputs:)
     
  9. gugucom macrumors 68020

    gugucom

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Location:
    Munich, Germany
    #11
    The only type of card that ran both in Mac Pros and G5 with PCIe was the X1900XT. And even in this case it had different memory configs. I believe it was 256 MB in Mac Pro and 128 MB in the G5. And as someone pointed out the Firmware was OF in G5 and EFI in Mac Pro. So without flashing nothing goes anyway. I tried for 2 months to find an OF firmware for for the G5 before I gave up and sold my 2,3 GHz Dual Core for a Mac Pro.
     

Share This Page