Mac Pro & gtx630

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by poke36878, May 2, 2019.

  1. poke36878 macrumors newbie

    poke36878

    Joined:
    May 2, 2019
    Location:
    Uk
    #1
    Hello,

    I’m trying to get a gtx630 installed in my 2010 Mac Pro with limited Success.

    I’ve installed the drivers and when it comes to booting the system gets to the login screen and I can type I’m my password but after that it just returns to the login screen. The shutdown, and restart buttons work ok.

    Any idea what’s wrong?

    Thanks!
     
  2. MIKX macrumors 6502a

    MIKX

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Location:
    Japan
    #2
    Yes, no " .sig" in your post.

    Not meaning to offend you but we are not mind readers.

    You have only told us that you have a 2010 cMP.

    Which Mac OS ? How much RAM ? What hardware ? Which bootrom version ? etc.

    If you go to your Macrumors account you will see that you can create a " signature" = .sig which shows us a comprehensive outline of your complete Mac Pro setup.

    My "signature" is at the bottom, below this text.

    Do you understand ?
     
  3. poke36878 thread starter macrumors newbie

    poke36878

    Joined:
    May 2, 2019
    Location:
    Uk
    #3
    A few extra details might help :)

    OS - 10.13.6, hoping to upgrade to 10.14.x
    RAM - 8GB
    2.8 quad core
    Boot rom - MP51.007F.B03
    512GB SSD with original 1Tb HDD
    The machine originally had a Redeon 5770.

    I got it pretty much stock, the only updrade so far is the SSD.

    Installed the latest CUDA and Web drivers.

    In the month I've had it its been rock solid until now, swapping back the original card brings back normal operation.

    Hope that helps :)
     
  4. bsbeamer macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    #4
    What EXACT brand, model and part number is the GTX 630? Post photos of the GPU when you remove it. Top, PCIe connections, and ports. What are the power requirements?

    I've seen many "modified" versions of low "number" 600-series GPUs floating around out there recently. Someone is trying to market them as "Mac Versions" on the resale market. If you did not purchase this as brand new, there is a chance it has been poorly messed with or there is a user error. There are also driver compatibility problems with many models below GTX 680 and seems more pronounced with certain manufacturers.

    You can try doing this THREE TIMES to see if it makes a difference:
    https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT204063

    Ultimately, why do you want/need to use this GPU? It's honestly not much better than 5770. If you're needing CUDA, pickup a 10XX series. If you're looking for Metal, get an RX580 and switch to Mojave.
     
  5. poke36878 thread starter macrumors newbie

    poke36878

    Joined:
    May 2, 2019
    Location:
    Uk
    #5
  6. Synchro3 macrumors 68000

    Synchro3

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    #6
    The tech specs of this card indicates core clock 810 MHz and 400 MHz RAM, what means you have a Fermi card (GF108 chip).

    GT 630.png

    Better go for a GT630 with Kepler GK107 or GK208 chip. Kepler cards are natively supported in macOS Mojave.

    E.g. these HP GT630 cards with two DisplayPort ports have GK107: https://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_fr...=0&LH_TitleDesc=0&_osacat=0&_odkw=Dell+GT+630
     
  7. poke36878 thread starter macrumors newbie

    poke36878

    Joined:
    May 2, 2019
    Location:
    Uk
    #7
    After much trying its no go with this card, just as well it was free :)

    It changes between refusing to log in or artefact city on screen.

    worth punt trying to get it to work I suppose :)

    Back to stock for now...
     
  8. poke36878 thread starter macrumors newbie

    poke36878

    Joined:
    May 2, 2019
    Location:
    Uk
    #8
    Another card, a GTX 650 and this time success :)

    Now running Mojave at full pelt even does 4k resolution.

    For a 9 year old machine it does feel very nippy. Untitled.png
     

Share This Page

7 May 2, 2019