Mac Pro HDD swap

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by reebzor, Mar 23, 2010.

  1. reebzor macrumors 6502a

    reebzor

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #1
    Quick question, needs a simple answer.

    Can I take the harddrive out of a MP 1,1 and put it in a 4,1 and have it just work? Thanks.
     
  2. Cindori macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #2
    Only if the installation contains the drivers needed for the graphics card. I believe the 2009 Mac Pro graphics drivers were added in 10.5.7.
     
  3. reebzor thread starter macrumors 6502a

    reebzor

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #3
    The 1,1 has Snow Leopard so it should be good to go then, right?
     
  4. drewsof07 macrumors 68000

    drewsof07

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
    #4
    Yes.
     
  5. reebzor thread starter macrumors 6502a

    reebzor

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #5
    Thanks guys it worked perfect. Also learned that the HDD caddys are different for the two machines.
     
  6. Cindori macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #6
    They are indeed. you break your fingers on the 1,1.
     

Share This Page