Mac Pro: How to install RAM per Apple?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by cydspal, Jan 26, 2008.

  1. cydspal macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    #1
    Ok, since the Mac Pro comes with an entry level 2 x 1gb, wouldn't it be best to buy 6 x 1gb cards so that you would have 4 x 1 gb on the bottom and 4 x 1 gb on the top? From Apple:

    Mac Pro (Early 2008)
    The FB DIMMs used in Mac Pro (Early 2008) computers are 800 MHz DDR2 ECC fully-buffered DIMMs. The Mac Pro (early 2008) has eight FB DIMM slots on two memory riser cards that support up to 32 GB of main memory. The DIMMs are installed as pairs of 1 GB, 2 GB and 4 GB sizes.

    Solution
    This table shows Mac Pro RAM configurations that will achieve ideal performance when running Final Cut Studio applications:

    Riser A contains: Riser B contains:
    2 x 512MB 2 x 512MB
    2 x 1GB 2 x 1GB
    2 x 2GB 2 x 2GB
    4 x 512MB 4 x 512MB
    4 x 1GB 4 x 1GB
    4 x 2GB 4 x 2GB

    Note: DIMMs must be installed in pairs of equal size from the same vendor. For instance, you must not have one or three DIMMs on either riser at any time. Additionally, two DIMMs from different vendors should not be combined and used as a pair.
     
  2. aaronw1986 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #2
    As stated in other posts, best to have matching sets of 4 or 8. Therefore 1GBX8 would fine fine, however, then all the slots are filled.
     
  3. cydspal thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    #3
    Oh, ok. So any other suggestions so I dont fill the slots and meet the Apple suggestions?
     
  4. Bastich macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    #4
    Yes, try reading one of the five other threads dedicated to this topic.

    :cool:
     
  5. cydspal thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    #5
    Yes I did and there is some confusion, but thanks for the great friendly tip ;)
     
  6. orpheus1120 macrumors 65816

    orpheus1120

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Location:
    Malaysia
    #6
    Do you have $$?

    If so, go for 4 x 4GB. 4 more slots left for you to fiddle with.

    16GB should be enough for whatever you do.
     
  7. eyecool macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    #7
    Bottom line, refer to Apple's Mac Pro (Early 2008) Guide: http://manuals.info.apple.com/en/Mac_Pro_Early_2008.pdf

    Which says:
    DIMMs must be installed in matched pairs and fit these specifications:
    Â 800 MHz, DDR2, FB-DIMMs
    Â 72-bit wide, 240-pin modules
    Â 36 memory ICs maximum per DIMM
    Â Error-correcting code (ECC)

    It also says how to install them if them in pairs of 4, 6 and 8.

    After much debate, I think I'm going 2x2GB to add to the 2x1GB stock.

    Only thing that gives me the creeps is how Apple already calls this Mac Pro the "Early 2008" version, not the 2008 version. Makes me wonder if they are going to come up a better "Mid 2008" or "End of 2008" version... LOL
     
  8. cydspal thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    #8
    I'm with you, something tells me that "early 2008" will soon be "old 2008"..:eek:
     
  9. viltsu macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    #9
  10. LorenK macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Location:
    Illinois
    #10
    The Mac Pro RAM has heat sinks attached. From the website for the Kingston memory, it doesn't show whether there are heat sinks attached to this memory. (Of course, I don't read German, so can't really say what else it may say.) The MacRumors Guide has a description of the memory and where to buy.
     

Share This Page