Mac Pro increase the power.

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by swuroshi, Sep 12, 2014.

  1. swuroshi macrumors newbie

    swuroshi

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    #1
    Hi everyone I joined yesterday, and I wanted some advice from you.
    I have an old Mac Pro 3,1 -8 core - 28.8 GHz- 8 gb RAM- 2008 - bought from a friend for about 4 months and it works well with FCPX 10.1.3. working in AVCHD but sometimes the color wheel turns too !!!!

    What do you advise me to do to give it more power?
    What are the first things to replace?
    I would like to replace the parts with calm because I do not have a lot of money available immediately, but only a little at a time.
    So the first expense to do what would it be?
    Thanks.
     
  2. TonyK macrumors 6502a

    TonyK

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    #2
    Morning,

    Bumping after only about 2 hours seems to be poor form. Give people a chance to see it before bumping.

    To improve things I would increase memory. My own 3,1 has 18GB of RAM which I like. If it were me I would at least double the current ram to 16GB.

    Consider getting a SSD and making it at least the OS and application drive. Depending on your needs it could even work as your only drive but I figure FCX files tend to get big, especially working files.

    Then I would get a good USB3 card for new USB3 external drives.

    This is what I've done on my own system and I am very happy with it, even 6 years out.
     
  3. paulrbeers, Sep 12, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 20, 2014

    paulrbeers macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    #3
    There isn't much you can do with a 3,1. Put a new vid card in, SSD, more RAM (if maxing out). Processors are what they are and there really aren't any faster ones to add. 3,1's are stuck with slow RAM and old Core2duo based Xeons...
     
  4. fuchsdh macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2014
    #4
    Upgrade your boot volume to an SSD first, then RAM, then video cards. Since you're on a budget a Samsung Evo 840 is probably the most bang for your buck.
     
  5. swuroshi, Sep 12, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 20, 2014

    swuroshi thread starter macrumors newbie

    swuroshi

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    #5


    Increase the ram 32 gb and sure I will.
    An SSD drive 240 gb definitely will install.
    And for card video what do you recommend ??
    Maybe used on ebay?
    Thanks.
     
  6. swuroshi, Sep 12, 2014
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2014

    swuroshi thread starter macrumors newbie

    swuroshi

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    #6
    :confused:
    However I do not understand on this forum, reading the various topics, I see that according to some a MacPro 2008 and to throw !!!!!!!!!
    * obsolete !!!!!!!! useless!
    *
    While a MacPro 2009, is perfect for changing the maximum power !!

    I know some people with a MacPro 2006 (a scrap to throw) paid $ 150 have replaced various things and became a monster of a power greater than an Intel i7 4860.

    I am convinced that a 2008 will cost more than a retrofitted 2009, but **** you can do even on a 2008 or am I wrong?
     
  7. prowlmedia macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Location:
    London
    #7
    Hi I have one of these I Maxed out a while ago

    Crucial 256gb SSD - is good value

    Get one as your main drive and one for disk cache for FCP if tha's what you are using.
    Possibly get a hybrid drive for Works

    680GTX is about the best card you can put in it without adding a second power supply... so no titan in the 2008. I have that evga one and it's great. I've had hacked firmware PC ones and they have been fine too. Just make sure it's 3,1 compatible in the listing.
    http://stores.ebay.com/macvidcards

    Ram from Crucial.

    The most important thing in Order to speed things up..

    SSDs for main and Cache - hybrid or spinning for work drives.
    RAM - as much as you can afford.
    Graphics Card equally important really.
    ThunderBolt PCIE Card for external storage.
     
  8. swuroshi thread starter macrumors newbie

    swuroshi

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    #8





    Hello, and thanks for the valuable advice you give me.
    But install on my MacPro 2008, these Hex Core Xeon W3690 I've read are recommended and powerful, it would be as easy DIY installation or you have to be an expert ??
    Thanks.
     
  9. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #9
    You CANNOT install a W3690 in a Mac Pro 2008, the socket doesn't match.
     
  10. swuroshi thread starter macrumors newbie

    swuroshi

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    #10

    : Mad:: Eek:: Confuso:
    nooooo !!!! I knew it !!!!!!!!!!!!!
     
  11. prowlmedia macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Location:
    London
    #11
    Not in a 2008 3,1 - they would work. Only the 2009 (4,1) 2010 (5,1)

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1586171
     
  12. swuroshi thread starter macrumors newbie

    swuroshi

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    #12
    Ok then okay let's forget this change, but with those mentioned in previous posts should, however, increase the power and get more strength to FCPX.
    After all we are talking about an eight-core Xeon !!!!!!!!
    tell me I'm right.
     
  13. swuroshi thread starter macrumors newbie

    swuroshi

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    #13
    One question, I saw that there are 2 types of MacPro, one of these and the 2009 version of Nehalem and wonder if this version is better, more powerful than the other versions ever of 2009.
     
  14. paulrbeers macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    #14
    You aren't listening.... The xeons in your 3,1 are old core2duo based xeons. They aren't core I series based ones like te 2009 or better. The processors are pretty much maxed out at this point! Yes you can add an SSD to it to boot faster and load files faster and yes you can add a new GPU. Both will definitely help, but overall there isn't any way to increase your CPU power (okay if you have the 2.8ghz models you could swap for 3.0 ghz but that's a lot of work and money for only 7% faster).

    ----------

    2009-2012 came in two varieties: single CPU and dual. The duals can rival even the fastest 2013.
     
  15. TonyK macrumors 6502a

    TonyK

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    #15
    My 3,1 has:

    Processor 2 x 2.8 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon

    Memory 18 GB 800 MHz DDR2 FB-DIMM​

    Morning,

    I would double the SSD unit to 480. My MacPro has Crucial M500 @ 480GB. Here is a link to Amazon showing a pretty good price:

    http://www.amazon.com/Crucial-2-5-Inch-adapter-Internal-CT960M500SSD1/dp/B00BQ8RGL6

    Looking at Amazon I found a MX100 @ 512GB for less money. It it I think a slower drive but you can look at the specs and decide for yourself.

    http://www.amazon.com/Crucial-MX100..._sim_pc_5?ie=UTF8&refRID=0SBZNXD98M7P7JW8KKKW

    An adapter kit will be needed to install this into one of the 4 drive slots. I used an IcyDock

    http://www.amazon.com/Icy-Dock-EZCo...=UTF8&qid=1410611551&sr=1-1&keywords=icy+dock

    There are a lot of threads on here about upgrading video and the 3,1 video can be upgraded. In a lot of cases you lose the boot screen. But they still work. for using with graphics I would really suggest a good video card upgrade.

    Take care,
     
  16. crjackson2134 macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #16
    No such card exists. That is fantasyware for a Mac Pro.
     
  17. prowlmedia macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Location:
    London
    #17
    You are right! I had seen the pcie add on cards you can buy. They Are for windows and you still have to have thunderbolt already on the motherboard.
     
  18. paulrbeers macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    #18
    None of that will "increase the power" though. Yes it will be more responsive, but based on the follow up comments from the OP about putting in W3690's and his original comments, he's looking to improve CPU power. That pretty much can't be done in a 2008. Outside of the single Quad core 2008, any other 2008 came with dual Quad cores of either 2.8 or 3.0ghz which is maxed out. There weren't any other processors released later that were significantly faster (i.e. there were 3.5ghz quad cores, or hex cores). So if looking to significantly improve CPU function, the only option is to sell and buy a 2009 or better.
     
  19. TonyK macrumors 6502a

    TonyK

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    #19
    That depends on how one parses "more power."

    For me more power is not so much a faster processor. It includes faster access though which can be a combination of processor, drives and memory. It would take looking at how much the system is straining under a given load to determine where improvements should be made.


     
  20. austinpike macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Location:
    MN
    #20
    An 8-core Mac Pro of any generation is still plenty powerful. Even if you could change the processors I doubt it would make the type of difference you are looking for.

    If you are getting spinning color wheels, I would ask, have you installed a clean OS since you bought it, or are you working on the same system the machine has been running since 2008? Install a fresh OS on an SSD and see what that does for you.

    Or, you know, it may just be that sometimes rendering video takes awhile, regardless of what machine you have.
     
  21. peabo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #21
    I believe the 3,1s actually went up to 3.2Ghz, so if he really wanted to squeeze as much out of it as possible, he could buy a pair of those.
     
  22. cosmos macrumors regular

    cosmos

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    #22
    Yes, the 3,1s did offer up to 3.2GHz processors. Most buyers (myself included) opted for dual 2.8GHz processors. The difference in raw CPU performance was only around 9% IIRC. The price difference (plus the much higher wattage requirements) did not make financial sense at the time.

    Even today, I question the value of buying a pair of 3.2GHz CPUs. For most real world day-to-day use adding an SSD, memory, or possibly a video card upgrade would be better choices.

    I seriously would advise against replacing the CPUs unless you really know your way around such upgrades. Too much chance of inducing a failure in a working system from an improper install IMHO.

    Unless you can find the CPUs for next to nothing, and have the knowledge to properly install them, you could end up with a 50 pound paperweight.

    In the end, there is only so much you can do to a system that is more than five years old. You have to ask yourself, is it really too slow for my needs? If so, if the above suggestions do not speed things up enough, you need a new system.
     
  23. westrock2000 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2013
    #23
    For video and picture editing, the hard drive itself can still be a very important link. Video especially is accessed from disk just because it would be impractical to load a several gigabyte video into memory. So access times can affect the responsiveness.

    I would recommend an SSD. It makes ANY computer feel faster.

    Also do you have something like Menu Meters installed? If so, then look at what's actually being used when you have a slow down. Is the CPU maxing out? Is the memory getting full?

    I know when I used to edit 1080p video I had all kinds of issues trying to scan around a movie that was on a single platter harddrive. I ended up having to go to RAID0 just to get enough bandwidth to make it smooth jumping around the video timeline. That was back when 120GB SSD's were still in the $300-$400 range, but now even 512GB drives are down to $190-200.
     
  24. Cancaro macrumors member

    Cancaro

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2014
    Location:
    italy
    #24
    1

    swuroshi hello, I know how you solved it?
    your MacPro 2008 still works fine with editing in HD?
    Thanks.
     
  25. Snjper macrumors newbie

    Snjper

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2015
    Location:
    Italy
    #25
    n

    here is news?
    because no one answers?
    thank you.
     

Share This Page