Mac Pro...Installing Memory

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Topper, Feb 24, 2008.

  1. Topper macrumors 65816

    Topper

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    #1
    I am going to install 14 GB of memory in my Mac Pro.
    The following diagram shows how I am going to do it.
    Does anyone agree or disagree?

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    You pulled that off of the diagram of RAM installations, didn't you? Then why would we have any complaints? If those are the sets of RAM that you have, go at it. Have fun! Don't wear socks or move around much!
     
  3. Topper thread starter macrumors 65816

    Topper

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    #3
    Yes, I did.
    But I think those instructions are actually from the original Mac Pro.
    I'm just not positive that they apply to the 2008 Mac Pro.
     
  4. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #4
    Yep, same deal. Only thing is, that diagram is only about halfway complete; it needs to be extended to 32GB! :p
     
  5. Topper thread starter macrumors 65816

    Topper

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    #5
    Thank you.

    My wife will kill me if she finds out I put 14GB in there. :p
     
  6. Boemer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    #6
    I wonder why only 14GB? If you buy 12GB, just buy the other 4GB too... looks much better.... Who cares about 1GB sticks ?
     
  7. zapp macrumors regular

    zapp

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2003
    Location:
    Caribou,ME
    #7
    "it must be even, you'll thank me later" A. Monk
     
  8. Topper thread starter macrumors 65816

    Topper

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    #8
    $210
     
  9. Boemer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    #9
    12GB + 4 GB = 16 GB = 8x 2GB memory modules = EVEN!!!

    I hope you didn't think my answer was meant serious :-D
     
  10. Topper thread starter macrumors 65816

    Topper

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    #10
    Yes I thought you were serious and it's a good idea if I had the money.

    I don't use emoticons very much but sometimes they help
    As a friend once said to me, "Didst thou forget thy winky?" :)
     
  11. Boemer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    #11
    Well I have to money, but I didn't think it was worth it. I just bought 4x 2GB and after reading these kind of threads about it being faster if I put in the extra 2 GB, I now have 10GB. And have totally no clue anymore about why it is faster...

    That we need pairs is okay, have needed those for a long time now...
     
  12. Topper thread starter macrumors 65816

    Topper

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    #12
    This memory stuff is giving me a headache....fill all 8 slots, more latency, more bandwidth, same size dimms, top riser, bottom riser, etc. etc. etc. :eek:

    Here is yet another chart (from Barefeats) to add to the charts that I don't know what the heck they are saying...

    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page