Mac Pro is weak sauce

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by cohibadad, Feb 18, 2008.

  1. cohibadad macrumors 6502a

    cohibadad

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    #1
    Handbrake cranking away at an :apple:TV preset on 2nd pass only getting 166fps avg utilizing 80% of all 8 cores. I'm sending this POS back ;)
     
  2. mmccaskill macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
  3. thxdave macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #3
    I think that's where the ;) figures into this thread. ;)
     
  4. motulist macrumors 68040

    motulist

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    #4
    So you're only able to re encode full definition video at 5.5 times faster than real time? Or rather 11 times faster because you're using 2 pass encoding? Sheesh! That's barely faster than I get on my Mac Plus!
     
  5. cohibadad thread starter macrumors 6502a

    cohibadad

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    #5
    Took 38 minutes for that 2 pass 2hr23m movie to finish encoding. I hope it's because the Handbrake developer build hasn't been optimized. My overclocked celeron could probably beat it this hunk of alu.
     
  6. deathshrub macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Location:
    Christmas Island
    #6
    Email the handbrake developers and complain that it doesn't utilize all cores efficiently enough. Personally I'd rather not have it max out so that I can continue using some moderately cpu-intensive apps in the background while it rips.
     
  7. sushi Moderator emeritus

    sushi

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    キャンプスワ&#
    #7
    Just out of curiosity, how much RAM do you have installed.
     
  8. motulist macrumors 68040

    motulist

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    #8
    Celeron? Feh, an Eniac machine could probably beat it!
     
  9. vinyin macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    #9
    it's important to know which resolution the video you are encoding has.
     
  10. speakerwizard macrumors 68000

    speakerwizard

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #10
    just to check, this post is taking the piss right?
     
  11. ghettochris macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    #11
    my 20" current imac gets 165 fps or so...



    only in mpeg though :mad:

    h264 makes it go about real time
     
  12. kirkbross macrumors 6502a

    kirkbross

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #12
    Easy child. There is more to life than encoding DVDs. Click here.
     
  13. motulist macrumors 68040

    motulist

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    #13
    For all of you who are sarcasm impaired, this entire thread is a farcical joke. He was posting about how slow his machine is as a way to point out how blazingly fast it really is.
     
  14. DWS macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Location:
    Australia
    #14
    Maybe, the sarcasm impaired, were just being sarcastic.
    How could you tell? :confused:
     
  15. cohibadad thread starter macrumors 6502a

    cohibadad

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    #15
    8x2
    720x356 (853x356 anamorphic strict). Transformers. I'm still pretty disappointed in the speed. A Vista machine could probably encode faster than this POS can rip. Oh well, I guess I can keep the MP for email and web browsing.
     
  16. MikeL macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Location:
    Bloomington, MN
    #16
    My C-64 had a faster GUI running GEOS. Finder is teh suck.
     
  17. Peace macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #17

    I am guessing your posts and this thread is a joke right? duh

    The new Mac Pro 8-core can spank any vista machine in transcoding..
    :rolleyes:

    After all it IS using a custom built version of This except the processor is a Xeon instead of the Core Extreme
     
  18. kirkbross macrumors 6502a

    kirkbross

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #18
    Ahhh... I stand rejected. I am not sarcasm impaired, but I am Handbrake / DVD ripping impaired... not a video guy... d'oh. I should check my facts before spouting my Cowboy e-tongue off. Apologies to cohibadad...
     
  19. mmccaskill macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    #19
    Yeah....what he said.
     
  20. treehorn macrumors 6502

    treehorn

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    #20
    I feel your pain. I used Compressor to compress a 2:15 project to DVD. And even though I used Best Quality 150 minute it took 40 whole minutes to compress the video!

    Now I can't charge my client for 6 hours of processing...
     
  21. Canoehead2 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    #21
    Wow, that is pretty suck - I was just thinking how much it sucked when I was compressing and deinterlacing a 1080i video at 35 fps while simultaneously reencoding a SD DVD in another instance of Handbrake at about 100 fps. This machine blows.
     

Share This Page