Mac Pro - Kingston Ram...anyone tried?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by meagsy, May 8, 2007.

  1. meagsy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    #1
    Hi guys, my mac pro arrived the other day, very exciting!
    after reading the threads here I;ve decided to upgarde ram with an additional 4gig.
    Question, anyone have anything to say about Kingston Ram?
    Im in Australia & and so far they are the most reasonable price i can find.
    Also if anyone knows of other reasonable price options for ram in Aus please chime in!

    Thanks!
     
  2. timish macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    #2

    I have it in my Mac Pro 3.0 and it works fine.
     
  3. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #3
    As long as you get the KTA-MP667K2/2G or KTA-MP667K2/4G series they are good.

    Do NOT get the KVR series FB-DIMM RAM, they are not MacPro compatible.

    If the seller does not specifiy the exact Kingston part number, then move on to a seller that does.

    You also want a seller that will give you a free (no shipping) replacement within the first 2 weeks if the RAM throws off too many recoverable ECC errors. The standard is 4 recoverable errors in 48 hours.
     
  4. timish macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    #4
    That is correct.

    I have the KTA part numbers in my Mac Pro.
     
  5. meagsy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    #5
    Thanks for the heads up regarding the type of ram.
    I just checked and it is KTA type,
    Is it at all an issue that there is no mention of the 'heat sinking' though?
    most other types seem to refer to something about 'apple heat sink'...?
    is that at all a problem?....my applications are solely Pro Audio if that makes any difference....
    Thanks again!
     
  6. Tangerine macrumors regular

    Tangerine

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    #6
    How about Ram at OWC? They have very good price and their Ram look very good in term of high quality. It have a heat sink very similar to the one selling on Apple website.
     
  7. timish macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    #7
    The heat sinks are equal to/better than the Apple heat sinks.

    I have four of these 512MB modules in my Mac Pro and it works fine. Fans are no faster than before and no parity errors.

    These do not work in the Intel Xserve. I tried in mine and it didn't like them for some reason.

    T
     
  8. pnyc macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #8
    I bought KTA-MP667AK2/2G on eBay for 107.00$ shipped and was wondering if anyone else was using these modules and what they thought about them.
     
  9. krell100 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #9
    I installed an additional 2Gb (2x1Gb) of Kingston Ram in my 2.66Ghz MP. It has the proper apple heatsinks and has worked flawlessly with no extra fan speed or overheating issues. I bought it from here:-

    http://www.streetwise.com.au/product_info.php?products_id=5049

    I'm planning on getting another 2Gb of Kingston sometime soon. Recommended.
     

Share This Page