Mac Pro (late 2012 tower) issue

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Check 6, Mar 2, 2015.

  1. Check 6 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    #1
    I have posted a similar thread some time ago but I'm still undecided as to what to do.

    Summary. I have a Mac Pro tower ( last one local Apple sold) with a 6 core 3.33 processor, 16 gigs of RAM HD 5870 graphics (limited to 1 gigot RAM) and three drives. Solid state for apps and OS, ! tb for data and another 1tb for time machine. The tower also has a super drive. The Display is a 30" Apple Cinima display (one of the last production ones) that was re-built by Apple about a year ago. Still at least a year of Apple care on the tower.

    Two weeks ago Apple replaced the video card under Apple care as the display was randomly showing horizontal lines scrolling down the screen. With the new video card all was good again until this morning. Cold boot process seemed normal initially but the display would flicker on and off from desktop to black repeatedly. Depressing any keyboard key or trackpad did not correct issue. I shut the tower down via the power button, waited a short time and turned it on again. Same result, however this time I noted that the power light on the Cinima display was flicker in tune with the screen. Instead of shutting down the Mac Pro I pulled the power plug on the display and waited about 30 seconds before plugging it back in. All is fine now.

    I'm thinking that the Cinima display is going south, Wish I could remember what the exact issue was that caused them to re-build it .

    So now the question is: Do I replace the display or sell the Mac Pro and get a iMac?

    The only reasons I'm considering the latter are:

    1. the mac pro does not have thunderbolt for data transfer
    2. the mac pro has USB 2
    3. the graphics card is limited to 1 gig of RAM and is old technology, most of the newer cards require a bigger power draw.
    4. Older and slower RAM ( minor issue)
    5. for what I do 6 cores is over kill
    6. Less clutter with the iMac

    However: The Mac pro is a solidly built unit with more than enough ventilation ( wish Apple had continued the heat slot in the top of the iMac)
    Drives and display are easily replaceable

    However one of the reasons I bought the Mac Pro was for a non glare monitor but I see less and less of them available in the better monitors (NEC and Eizo)

    So after that long diatribe to the experts I ask for suggestions. By the way I'm over 70 and do light aperture, photoshop and final cut pro besides normal email, some web research and pages and or word.

    Reducing clutter and a good display either after market of iMac 5K are very important to old eyes.

    again sorry for the length
     
  2. rei101 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    #2
    The OBVIOUS question is, what do you do with the Mac Pro? If you are not into video editing or motion graphics you are ok with it.

    I have a Mac Pro like yours and is better to have it as a server than selling it. I have it connected to my iMac and that is it.
     
  3. Check 6 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    #3
    To the first part of your comments, I think I summarized what I do with the Mac Pro in my comment above. As to the second part you suggestion is a good one i.e. keeping it as a server or at least holding on to it for a while.

    I might also mention that of all the Macs we have the Mac Pro (plural) have been the only troubles. This mac pro will be going in for its fourth visit to Apple today. The previous one went in over 8 times before they gutted it put in new drives, graphics card and motherboard. It was a 2009 model and my son has it now running well however not often as his business uses PC. I just replaced my wife 2008 iMac with a new one and the old one never skipped a beat.

    I believe that this issue is probably with the Cinema Display and not the mac pro and as such I'm back to a new display as Apple no longer services the 30" cinima displays ( model discontinued in 2010) or a 27" iMac . I know, I must make the decision but looking for suggestions.
     
  4. crjackson2134 macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #4
    Check 6, unless you specificallyneed Thunderbolt the other things you are mentioning are trivial and easily upgraded. Look at the specs. In my signature.

    USB 3.0 easily added for $30

    AMD HD 7970 (= D700 in nMP) no additional power from MVC, plug n play.

    It sounds like you need a monitor only, so I'm sure why you need to take the tower in to Apple.

    If you just have the itch and want to get an iMac then go for it. You don't need to justify it to anyone. At our age, we can do whatever we want just because. No reasoning required.

    Good luck my friend,
     
  5. Check 6 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    #5
    All good points. I spent some time on the phone with an apple tech, first a "normal " level and then a higher level and he recommended I take it in although we both agree it is most likely the 30" Cinima display which was completely rebuilt less than two years ago. That said there was one anomaly noticed on the safe mode boot that could be a repeat of the graphics card issue that I had several weeks ago that resulted in them installing a new graphics card. Anyway we are off to the Apple store later this morning which is a 65 mile jaunt one way.

    By the way what monitor do you use since at the minimum it looks like I will need a new monitor. The Apple Thunderbolt looks good BUT it is not non glare, is four year old technology and is priced right up with the better NEC monitors
     
  6. Check 6 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    #6
    On my way home from visiting the Apple Store and the conclusion is my 30 " cinema display is the culprit and is on its last legs. Mac Pro checked out OK so I am now looking for a monitor and or will order a iMac 5 k .... No decision yet
     
  7. Check 6 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    #7
    Has anyone replaced there hd 5870 graphics card with a gtx680 and if so what are the gains if any ?
     
  8. crjackson2134 macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #8
    Sorry for the delay. I don't have demanding monitor needs, but I'm very pleased with my 25" HP IPS monitor.
     
  9. DougTheImpaler macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Location:
    Central Illinois
    #9
    I have this Auria monitor, available at Micro Center for around $400. It is a non-glare/matte type, and I love it. 2560x1440, IPS display, includes DisplayPort, DL-DVI, HDMI, and VGA. The HDMI is limited to 1920x1080, but DL-DVI and DisplayPort support the native resolution. However, at 2560x1440 it is a somewhat lower resolution than your 2560x1600 display. You might be better off looking for a 4K display.
     
  10. MacSince1985, Mar 6, 2015
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2015

    MacSince1985 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    #10
    I replaced a 5770 with a gtx680, but that was because the old card died. That happened about a week after I replaced the HD with a SSD. So, while the system is much faster than before, I don't know how much of that gain to attribute to the card.

    I use a Dell U2711 monitor, which has the same panel as the 27" iMac but with a matte finish.

    Update: If I were in the market for a monitor now, I'd probably get the Dell U3014. Not cheap, but excellent color gamut. Of course, if color accuracy is not important for your work, there are many cheaper options.
     

Share This Page