Mac Pro (late 2013) and triple UHD

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by w0rd3r, Feb 13, 2015.

  1. w0rd3r macrumors regular

    w0rd3r

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2014
    Location:
    France
    #1
    Hi everyone,

    Before even starting my thread I'd like to point out this Apple Support page which contains some interesting piece of information: http://support.apple.com/en-us/HT202801

    That way, you'll know I'm aware of what it says.

    That being said, I started a chat with Apple Support earlier today with this question : "How is the new Mac Pro not able to run 3 UHD Displays @60Hz?"
    And I had no better answer that : "just check this page" or even one "Mmmmmeh, it might work but I'm not sure"

    So here is the question : Since the New Mac Pro has 3 independent Thunderbolt Bus (port 1-2, port 3-4 and port 5-6 + HDMI), is it possible to connect 3 UHD Displays via Mini DisplayPort and have them running @60Hz ?

    The apple support page states you should run 2 displays via Mini DisplayPort and one via HDMI (so 30Hz for the third one).

    What happens if I plug the third in a Thunderbolt port ? If I play with SwitchResX, will I be able to run the 3 displays @60Hz (or anything beyond 30Hz for the third display)?

    I have 2 ASUS PB287Q plugged via MiniDP->DP running @60Hz flawlessly. I'd love to have a third display BUT I don't want something @30Hz.

    So, if anyone has information I'll be glad to read that. If someone has 3 UHD displays on a new Mac Pro, please try them all on TB ports.


    Before I finish, I'd like to point out that for example, Lew from Unbox Therapy is currently using 3 3440*1440 + one UHD with the New Mac Pro (see attachment).


    So I assume everything runs @60Hz. Is there such a big difference between 3 3440*1440 and 3840*2160 that the new Mac Pro won't be able to run the second one @60Hz?


    Thanks for your answers,
    Cheers from France.
    Bob
     

    Attached Files:

  2. sirisy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Location:
    Brazil
    #2
    sorry for my bad english, but trying to help...

    yes, you can connect 3 uhd Displays via Mini DisplayPort and have them running @60Hz (connecting each one in a different thunderbolt bus)... i have 3 dell up2414q @60hz on mac pro (2013) - base model
     
  3. w0rd3r thread starter macrumors regular

    w0rd3r

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2014
    Location:
    France
    #3
    Awesome!
    So the apple support page is wrong ?

    That's a very good news. I was trying to find out someone with 3 UHD display to test that. Thanks a gazillion times.

    Quick question : did you know it will work before you tried ?
     
  4. sirisy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Location:
    Brazil
    #4


    no. I intended to connect two @ 60Hz and one @ 30Hz. But i tested and it worked.

    is really very strange, but the Apple support page is wrong
     
  5. w0rd3r thread starter macrumors regular

    w0rd3r

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2014
    Location:
    France
    #5
    Ok thanks. No trick needed ? They all run @60Hz out of hte box with a MiniDP->DP Cable?

    And I don't know if you've tested or if you even can but what happens if you plug a 4th monitor through HDMI now ? Is everything working as it should?

    And did you try to put 2 of your 3 monitors on the same Thunderbolt Bus?

    Thanks again, Bob
     
  6. sirisy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Location:
    Brazil
    #6
    dell up2414q is a “tiled display” (MST display). it doesn't worked @60hz out of box. You need to activate an option in the display menu…. but after turned on, it worked

    I also tested the three dell up2414q with another apple thunderbolt display (ATD). All connected via Thunderbolt/minidisplay port.

    Two Dells (each connected to different bus thunderbolt ) worked @ 60hz. The third Dell ( connected to the same bus thunderbolt that ATD was connected ), worked @30hz

    and ATD worked normally (@ 60hz - 2560x1440 )

    I made no test with hdmi
     
  7. w0rd3r thread starter macrumors regular

    w0rd3r

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2014
    Location:
    France
    #7
    Ok thanks for everything.
    I ordered the third ASUS PB287Q. I also have to enable DisplayPort 1.2 to use it @60Hz.

    I'll let you know when I receive it, but based on what you said, it should work perfectly.

    Bob.
     
  8. w0rd3r thread starter macrumors regular

    w0rd3r

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2014
    Location:
    France
    #8
    Well after I received my third PB287Q today, I just plugged it in and it worked flawlessly @60Hz despite what Apple said.

    The only thing is, by default I don't have the 3200*1800 resolution on the third screen (but I have it on the 2 others). I'll play with SwitchResX to have it back.

    Anyway thanks again for everything, and I hope this thread will help anyone who's wondering what the hell was Apple thinking when they wrote the Support Page.

    Bob
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page