Mac Pro Lion WON'T SLEEP -- Snow Leopard Insomnia

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by whyrichard, Oct 17, 2011.

  1. whyrichard macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    #1
    Mac Pro recently upgraded to Lion...

    Sleep Insomnia seems to have carried itself over from SL. In SL, i used "Please Sleep" app to get my mac pro to sleep, it wouldn't do so otherwise.

    Now, even with the updated Please Sleep, the mac pro does not want to go to sleep automaticallly through energy saver.

    However, when i use the apple menu, it does so just fine.

    HOW DO I GET MY MAC PRO TO SLEEP? Please sleep doesn't work... only apple menu/sleep works...

    How can i get my mac pro so sleep after a specified time of unuse?

    Thanks!

    r.
     
  2. gullySn0wCat macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
  3. whyrichard thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    #3
    yes. shutdown, unplug, wait. plug. wait. startup...
    unplug peripherals?


    r.
     
  4. com930 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    #4
    I have the same problem for OS X 10.6.8 :(. Macbook pro can sleep by closing lid and chosing Sleep from Finder but not sleeping by itself as defined in Energy Saver.

    Have tried for weeks with different methods but have no luck :(

    SMC reset, PRAM reset, kill all process, disk permission repair...
     
  5. whyrichard thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    #5
    have you tried the program called "please sleep"?

    it USED to work for me...

    r.
     
  6. oripaamoni macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
  7. Garamond macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    #7
    Yup, same here after upgrading to 10.7.2.
    Mac OS X Insomnia.
     
  8. stiwi macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Location:
    Singapore
    #8
    Same here. Mac Pro 5,1, running 10.7.2 won't sleep. "Please sleep" works but after waking up there is no internet connection for 30 seconds or so. I don't have this effect after I manually put MP to sleep.
     
  9. stiwi macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Location:
    Singapore
    #9
    Still the same, Mac Pro 2010, Mountain Lion. Funny.
    What did they improve or fix in ML or i missed something and upgraded for nothing? Twitter, Facebook, Messages, I don't use it so useless for me. Dual monitor support still broken since Lion.

    If Windows wouldn't be going same funny, social networking route, I would seriously consider switching.
     
  10. KingKongUser macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    #10
    The proper reset for a MacPro is

    1. Shutdown
    2. Hold P, R, alt and cmd at the same time
    3. While still holding the 4 keys turn on MacPro
    4. What for second start up chime and then release keys...
     
  11. stiwi macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Location:
    Singapore
    #11
    I did, nothing.

    Assertion status system-wide:
    PreventUserIdleDisplaySleep 0
    PreventSystemSleep 0
    PreventUserIdleSystemSleep 0
    ExternalMedia 0
    UserIsActive 0
    ApplePushServiceTask 0
    BackgroundTask 1

    Listed by owning process:
    pid 735(helpd): [0x0000000c000001a4] 00:12:49 BackgroundTask named: "com.apple.helpd.sdmbuilding"

    Not sure what this process is, perhaps this is the case.
     

Share This Page