Mac Pro loss of RAM

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by pideja, May 18, 2013.

  1. pideja macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    #1
    For some time now, my MacPro has seemed sluggish and slow. Running Tech Tools Pro, I noticed that it listed 2Go of RAM...but I installed 10Go RAM when I purchased the unit, five years ago. What could explain the missing RAM?:eek:
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    What does System Report / System Information > Hardware > Memory have to say?
     
  3. Tesselator macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #3
    Remove all the DIMMs and riser boards, clean all the connections with a pink pencil eraser and rubbing alcohol, reassemble and test. You might have to reseat the riser boards a few times - I have had to on mine in the past.
     
  4. GermanyChris macrumors 601

    GermanyChris

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Here
    #4
    Check under your desk to see if the rest is hiding from you! I tend to find mine on the left corner behind my lamp. Gibe the DIMMS a pat and scratch them behind the ears and put them back in.
     
  5. Spacedust macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #5
    Probably dead RAM - this is typical for Mac Pro 2006-2008 ;)
     

Share This Page