Mac pro memory any DRR2 800 (PC6400)?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by crayz, May 12, 2008.

  1. crayz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    #1
    Hi , ive asked this question loosely before.

    but am i able to just buy any DRR2 800 (PC6400) ram?

    or dose it have to be Mac certified ??

    im in need of a quick cheap options of an extra 2gig of ram to tide me over till the summer is out. not looking to pay more than 40 pounds. ive seen alot of branded ram on overclockers.co.uk for around these prices. can i do this or will it cause any issues ?

    Thank you.
     
  2. StealthRider macrumors 65816

    StealthRider

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    Yokosuka, Japan
    #2
  3. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #3
    And not just any FB-DIMM either, need the ones with the huge heatsinks on them.

    [​IMG]

    The typical PC Workstation memory comes with the thin heatspreaders, looking around and getting Apple spec (aka, works in Mac Pro) memory is likely worth it.
     
  4. crayz thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    #4
    i see, why is it that the crucial ram is DDR2 PC2-5300? but the ram on owc is PC6400 DDR2 ? sorry I'm unsure about all this don't want to buy anything with out knowing whats what.

    Thanks again.
     
  5. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #5
    Please look in the Guides : Hardware : Understanding Intel Mac RAM

    There are two models of MacPro - the earlier model took DDR2-667 (PC2-5300) FB-DIMMs, the 2008 model takes DDR2-800 (PC2-6400) FB-DIMMs.
     
  6. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #6
    The new 2008 machines need the DDR2-800 speed memory (PC2-6400) ... the older Mac Pro machines DDR2-667 (PC2-5300) memory.
     
  7. crayz thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    #7
    thank you .

    sorry to post things that are in the help threads.

    i got my answers. thanks guys.
     
  8. JeffDM macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    #8
    It's best to use the 800 in the new systems, but I think I've seen an article at Barefeats that showed there was very little speed penalty for using 667 speed in the same computer.
     

Share This Page