Mac Pro Memory Upgrade

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by rendimage, Mar 3, 2008.

  1. rendimage macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    #1
    I have recently purchased 8gb of 800mhz ram for my mac pro. The mac pro is about 5 months old. I took out the 667mhz ram completely. In the About this mac displays that the ram is running at 667mhz and not 800. I assumed that if I removed all traces of the slower ram the bios would recognize the faster ram. Is the ram really running at the faster speed or have I just payed extra for not good reason?

    any help would be most appreciated.
     
  2. aaronw1986 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #2
    If your Mac Pro is about 5 months old, then it is the older model. Only the new model released in 2008 supports 800Mhz RAM
     
  3. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #3
  4. bigbird macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #4
    As the old knight said in Indiana Jones and the Search for the Holy Grail:
    "You have not chosen wisely". There is and won't be anything to be gained by using 800MHz FB-DIMM's in the original Mac Pro. The RAM can only run at 667MHz. Either buy a new MP, or sell the 800MHz RAM.
     
  5. SDDave2007 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    #5
    You just paid a premium price for nothing...

    Unless you have the latest MacPro....

    The latest MacPro uses the 800Mhz chips

    The earlier MacPros use 667Mhz chips, and will go no faster....
     
  6. rendimage thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    #6
    thanks guys. oh well. I guess I need to buy a new machine!!! Is there any reason to use more than 8gb. I mean is there any noticeable difference in putting in 12 or 16gb? I run cs3, model and render in cinema 4d and before I was getting out of memory errors with only 4gb.

    cheers
     
  7. jb60606 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Location:
    Chicago
    #7
    I was just about to say; don't downgrade your RAM. Upgrade your PC. That's the Mac way. :D

    In all seriousness, unless it's the uber expensive Apple branded RAM, don't return it. It'll still run at 667Mhz, and may possibly be utilized in future MPs (though doubtful).
     
  8. IgnatiusTheKing macrumors 68040

    IgnatiusTheKing

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Location:
    das Fort
    #8
    If I buy a Mac Pro that has 1GB (1 x 512MB) RAM and I buy 4GB (2 x 2GB), should I install the new stuff in slots 1 and 2 and take the original 1GB out completely, move it down to different slots and have 6GB RAM, or install the new stuff in the next slots down and have 6 GB?
     

Share This Page