Mac Pro mid 2010 ATI Radeon HD 5770

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by nouveau_redneck, Feb 6, 2018.

  1. nouveau_redneck macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2017
    #1
    I just purchased a mid 2010 Mac Pro with a ATI Radeon HD 5770 video card. It arrives later this week. I'm looking to purchase a monitor but it's not clear to me what resolution monitor is needed. I know the card supports 2560 X 1600, but I'm wondering if it will support a lower resolution monitor such as 2560 X 1440.

    Any help would be appreciated. The selection of 2560 X 1440 monitors is much greater so I'd like to chose one of those if it is compatible.
     
  2. ActionableMango macrumors G3

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
  3. nouveau_redneck thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2017
    #3
    Will the HD 5770 run at t2560 X 1440 with drivers shipped in High Sierra, or do I need to find custom drivers?
     
  4. Darmok N Jalad macrumors 68000

    Darmok N Jalad

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2017
    Location:
    Tanagra
    #4
    It should support a wide range of monitors. They usually just report the maximum resolution, and anything under that will be just fine. No extra drivers needed.
     
  5. nouveau_redneck thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2017
  6. Macschrauber macrumors 6502

    Macschrauber

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Location:
    Germany
    #6
    I run exactly the same setup. 5.1, 5770, Samsung 32" Monitor at 2560 X 1440. Works with DVI-D Dual Link and with a MiniDisplayPort to DisplayPort Cable - If DisplayPort set your Monitor to DP Version 1.1
     
  7. kohlson macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    #7
    A friend's mid-2010 with stock 5770 now runs a Dell U2718Q 4K monitor, set at 1440p. Works over the supplied mDP - DP cable. He's pretty happy with it. It replaced an older Dell 24-in display.
     
  8. Milos Lazic macrumors newbie

    Milos Lazic

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2018
  9. CheMillan macrumors member

    CheMillan

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2015
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #9

    My Mac Pro Mid 2010 has a Dell 34" UltraSharp U3415W connected to the MiniDisplay port of an Nvidia GT120 graphics card. The Dell monitor runs smooth at the full native resolution of 3440x1440 at 60 hertz refresh rate.
     
  10. h9826790 macrumors G5

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #10
    What problem?
     
  11. ActionableMango macrumors G3

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #11
    What problem? The 5770 uses stock Apple drivers. There's nothing to change.
     
  12. Chrissie10 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Location:
    Ulm, Germany
    #12
    I have just upgrade my macpro 5,1 to QuadroK5000 4GB because I would like to go for a bigger screen.
    I am considering a 34" model, ie. Dell U3417W or LG 34UC98. I guess the quadro should be able to handle 3440 x 1440 at 60 Hz. We do mainly pro work (Cad and DTP) on our machines.
    Does anybody have any experiences?
     
  13. privpiotr macrumors newbie

    privpiotr

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2019
    #13
    Hi Guys. My mac is 5.1 mid 2010 equiped with standard HD5770 1Gb Mac card on board. I bought Dell U2718Q, connected it to mac Pro with mDP->DP cable. Monitor runs in 4k wit 30Hz. It is ok for me ( no games, just work with documents ). Frequency is as in manuals for 5770 but.....I CAN scale entire visible area of screen EXCEPT all areas of system informations as: first row on the screen:
    • left corner apple, then everything what is in row on right side from apple.
    In example if there is Opera browser so name Opera, file, edition etc etc
    • Same story with everything on right side as date, clock, wifi etc etc
    SEE UPLOADED SCREEN

    I cant find solution with Dr.Google :-/
    Please support me
    Thx
    screen 1.png
     
  14. h9826790 macrumors G5

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #14
    Download ResXtreme and check if there is any 2x Scale resolution. If yes, select the one that you want.
    CHG90 HiDPI options.png

    If no 2x Scale available, run this command in terminal and try again
    Code:
    sudo defaults write /Library/Preferences/com.apple.windowserver.plist DisplayResolutionEnabled -bool true
    3840x2016 display resolution is good, however, you should keep the "UI resolution" at something like 2560x1440. Otherwise the OS UI will be too small for 27" display.
    3840x1080 HiDPI.png
     
  15. privpiotr macrumors newbie

    privpiotr

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2019
    #15
    Thank you very much. I will try it tomorrow.
    In meantime I got information from DELL support that......Apple is NOT supporting 4k DELL U2718Q monitor from Sierra OSX o_O
    Only Windows is supported. W E I R D
     
  16. LFO8, May 2, 2019
    Last edited: May 10, 2019

    LFO8 macrumors member

    LFO8

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2019
    #16
    I also used my HD5770 to power my new BenQ display at 1440p. After two days my HD5770 died. This could be a coincidence ofcourse as I have had my 5,1 Mac Pro since 2014 (purchased it refurbished at the time) and I bet the HD5770 had seen some years of action before that. It was always quite noisy.

    Waiting for all the parts to arrive in the mail so I can hook up my newly Sapphire Radeon 580RX Pulse 8Gb.

    I hope that saves my beloved 5,1 as I have run all tests and all that is left as the most likely cause is that my HD5770 simply died.
     
  17. privpiotr macrumors newbie

    privpiotr

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2019
    #17
    Hi Guys. I solved problem. Dell U2718Q has been exchanged to LG 27UK850-W. Zero weird messages on resolution choice panel ( i.e. 2560x1440 /low resolution/ !!!! ) and blurred edges of icons, fonts etc. Next station Sapphire RX590 Nitro+SE
    :)
     
  18. LFO8 macrumors member

    LFO8

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2019
    #18
    This fixed it. My 5,1 lives again and the RX580 runs great.
     
  19. Macschrauber macrumors 6502

    Macschrauber

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Location:
    Germany
    #19
    The more pixles a GPU has to drive the more workload it has.

    So the bigger screen can be the trigger to brick a GPU what already has been worn out by age, dust and old thermal paste.
     
  20. LFO8 macrumors member

    LFO8

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2019
    #20
    Yes, was my line of thinking too.
     
  21. MIKX, May 11, 2019
    Last edited: May 11, 2019

    MIKX macrumors 6502a

    MIKX

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Location:
    Japan
    #21
    Forgive me for saying this but why use such an old HD 5770 in a 2010 cMP ?
    ( they were greatin their time ! I have two of them !
    )​
    The HD 5780, the HD 7950 and the HD 7970 & the R9 280X cards are all imminently EFI flashable AND except for the 5770 & 5870 are " Metal supported" = You can use these cards to install Mojave or update your cMP firmware.

    Even using an HD 7970 or R9 280X is rewarding in either High Sierra or the current release of Mojave. Of course It depends how you want to use your cMP.

    Note : I "believe" that both the HD 7970 & the R9 280X can run on 4k monitors .. but. . as I do not have a 4k monitor . . . . someone more knowledgeable please chime in.
     

Share This Page

20 February 6, 2018