Mac Pro needs improvement

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by cube, Apr 27, 2007.

  1. cube macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
  2. iW00t macrumors 68040

    iW00t

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Location:
    Defenders of Apple Guild
    #2
    Most people do not need that. Apple does not cater to the minority.
     
  3. Sesshi macrumors G3

    Sesshi

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Location:
    One Nation Under Gordon
    #3
    Creative professionals is not a minority?

    I'd like to see better cooling and some more solid engineering inside while keeping the eye candy.
     
  4. killmoms macrumors 68040

    killmoms

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #4
    ...My Mac Pro runs nearly silently and cool all the time. How much better can the cooling get? :confused:
     
  5. Sesshi macrumors G3

    Sesshi

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Location:
    One Nation Under Gordon
    #5
    Depends on where you use it and what you use it for. I believe I discussed a similar thing with someone else before who got upset and decided to send me a rather questionable PM instead, but like the Macbook Pro, if you use the power that the hardware is capable of in a less than benign environment the Pros have (once again, like it's portable brother) a habit of jacking it in well before other machines even based on essentially the same motherboard.

    If you're going to use it like... oh I don't know, an iMac, I'm sure it'll be stable and cool and silent. Most other machines are too these days.

    Also, its rather galling that the crappy looking plastic carriers on a Dell Precision can outperform the drive carriers on the Pro in terms of being able to hang onto the drives properly, an issue particularly with very high-performance drives.
     
  6. aLoC macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    #6
    Something new: if you select the Radeon 1900 on the Apple store, the shipping time goes out to 7-10 days. Maybe they are going to update the video cards soon?
     
  7. Redneck1089 macrumors 65816

    Redneck1089

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    #7

    Good find. I just bought my Mac Pro, and I'll be PO'd if it's updated this soon! :mad:
     
  8. diehardmacfan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    #8
    improvements are greately needed

    graphic cards and the 512 mbyts ram card should be standard configuration

    also apple should also start offering a 1TB drive because hitachi has made one for the mac pro

    also mabey SAS/SCSI interfaces for higher performance drives

    also blue ray support

    also cheaper RAM and HD prices

    and also mabey the 3 Ghz quad or a lower speed octal core for default configuration

    i am really hoping the mac pro gets its upgrade by WWDC because i am buying one in june.

    :apple:
     
  9. Kosh66 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    #9
    Doesn't the cooling ramp up, like on the PowerMac G5? The heavier the load the faster than fans go.

    I didn't see anything wrong with the insides. There isn't much to the drive carriers, but they do what they need to and allow for cooling.

    Things can always been improved, but the Mac Pro case is a definite improvement over the PowerMac G5.
     
  10. Fearless Leader macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Location:
    Hoosiertown
    #10
    I want a smaller case and more space inside to stuff stuff.

    Anyways:
    I want an 8800 in there
    move off the fully buffered memory to something faster and cheaper or at least give the option. 8 cores are bottlenecking at the memory level.

    thats about it.
     
  11. bld44 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    #11
    Been that way for a while. 3-4 days is more of a reality.
     
  12. Umbongo macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #12
    Plenty of people don't need anything more than the 7300GT, the majority of buyers I'd wager.

    I'm sure they will when the Pro gets revised and the drive has been in the wild for a while, and they can get enough to meet demand.

    SAS definatly.

    Similar to the 1TB drives.

    Apple's prices, just like all the other vendors, are going to always be on the pricey side for such components, consumers don't need to buy from them so it shouldn't really be an issue for most people. They are very simple to install yourself.

    When pricing allows it I'm sure they will, Xeon chips haven't dropped in price since before the Mac Pro was released.

    Unless Apple can get a deal with Intel I don't see them shipping before the Intel price drops rumoured for July.
     
  13. Sesshi macrumors G3

    Sesshi

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Location:
    One Nation Under Gordon
    #13
    If SAS support is offered they definitely need to work on the drive carriers, and probably the base - as well as more damping on the case. The 130Gb 15K SAS drives I use on the Dell Precisions are very noticeably more vibration and noise prone than 7.2/10K drives. Who knows, maybe it's one of the reasons they decided not to make it an option on the Pro.

    Noise bothers me a lot at home and while the aforesaid crappy looking drive carriers on the Dell did a better job than the Pro carriers of containing rattling and the case did a decent job at containing internal resonance, on my hard floor at home it passed the head movement (?) vibration down to the floorboard. In the end I needed to use an audiophile isolation product to suspend the Dell away from the floor.
     
  14. Tangerine macrumors regular

    Tangerine

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    #14
    I just want it to support more Graphic Card, such as buy a PC Graphic Card and it will work with the Mac Pro. This would be the biggest issue with the current Mac Pro right now. I can't go out and grab another Graphic Card if the one in my Mac Pro died. Not to mention it's so damn expensive with the same spec as the retail PC version one. I'm drooling over the NVidia 8800 GTX! The Mac Pro is fine right now, nice quiet case design. I just think it's a bit too heavy and bulky at the moment is the only flaws. And I agree, cheaper Ram price. There is alternative aftermarket one, but it's hard to choose one because there is so many. Not all Ram is the same.
     
  15. synth3tik macrumors 68040

    synth3tik

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
  16. Tangerine macrumors regular

    Tangerine

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    #16
    I don't think it got anything to do with whining, it's just different opinions and suggestion. People pay a lot for the high end Mac Pro and they want the very best out of it. It's just human nature though, nothing is perfect.
     
  17. cube thread starter macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #17
    What whining? With only one double-wide slot, one needs 4 computers instead of one, increasing the complexity and decreasing the reliability of a system.
     
  18. janey macrumors 603

    janey

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Location:
    sunny los angeles
    #18
    I find it sad my bargain gaming PC has a 7300gt. I honestly think stock Mac Pros should come with a better card.
    RAM prices from any vendor in regards to the Mac Pro are pricey in all aspects. However, Apple does gouge you for HD/RAM upgrades most of the time, like on the consumer machines. You could honestly get the HDD upgrades from Apple for the same price as you can go get one on Newegg, pay the same price if not cheaper, and keep the old drive. Or, go with more RAM for the same price.

    That sounds more like user error. Sorry if I'm offending you, but it certainly is not all the same, and only certain types of RAM work with the Mac Pro, and anyone who bothers to read the tech specs on the Mac Pro can figure it out and go buy all the appropriate RAM they need from any vendor they want. It's really not rocket science or a crapshoot. You get what you want, what you need.
     
  19. Pressure macrumors 68040

    Pressure

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Location:
    Denmark
    #19
    You should be knacking at Intel for not releasing a workstation motherboard that does not require Fully-Buffered DIMMs and not Apple Inc.

    Intel makes the hardware, Apple doesn't.

    It is still probably the world fastest personal computer.
     
  20. Sesshi macrumors G3

    Sesshi

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Location:
    One Nation Under Gordon
    #20
    The Dell Precisions are a faster system overall, with support for SAS, better display adapter choice, yada yada. Same with the equivalents from HP, Fujitsu Siemens, etc etc. Once everyone else gets 3Ghz Octos it'll actually be the slowest system of it's class out there.
     
  21. iW00t macrumors 68040

    iW00t

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Location:
    Defenders of Apple Guild
    #21
    Apparently not enough.

    Try building a multi processor workstation using parts you cobbled together from Newegg someday. The Mac Pro is very price competitive.
     
  22. janey macrumors 603

    janey

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Location:
    sunny los angeles
    #22
    Well, truth be told I'd pay more for the handbuilt Newegg machine over a Mac Pro if it could legally and easily run Mac OS X. I am not forced into getting or paying extra for something I absolutely do not want. (read: Apple, sell your Mac Pros without RAM or hard drives or for that matter, anything that I can buy off Newegg. Please.)

    I like choosing the components that go into my computers. I make an exception for Apple cause the laptops are good and I like OSX. But if the OS-appeal wasn't there...there is no way in hell I'd be paying for a desktop like that if there wasn't a good reason for doing so (e.g. massive discounts, special use).
     
  23. Tangerine macrumors regular

    Tangerine

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    #23
    That's not what I mean at all. People who own the Mac Pro already know what Ram to get. The problem is you're buying an 3rd After market Ram. How you know the vendors you buy from is trust worthy? How you know the Ram will not died out on you or give you problem? I see many competitor trying to come up with all different kind of heat sink to match with the one on Apple Website. I find this very confusing and steer me in all different kind of direction because of so many heat sink, it's hard to find one that is best and work. Personally, when I want to upgrade my Ram I want it to be as easy and worry free as possible. This is not the case with the Mac Pro. If Apple make their Ram cheaper on their website, it would make it an easier decision for the customer owning the Mac Pro.
     
  24. Tangerine macrumors regular

    Tangerine

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    #24

    Not really. I still think it's cheaper if you build your own Computer. Computer parts and processors is not that expensive anymore. You just need to know where to shop. The Mac Pro come with a crappy Graphic Card, upgrading to ATI X1900 making the machine already at 3K. Adding more Ram easily make it even more expensive. I think I can build a better computer with 3K then the Mac Pro.
     
  25. janey macrumors 603

    janey

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Location:
    sunny los angeles
    #25
    Uhh. It's exactly the same as the rest of the market - caveat emptor. In fact, I'm pretty sure some of the vendors are selling exactly the same thing Apple puts in the Mac Pro and sells as upgrades.

    Meanwhile, a quick look at newegg shows a lot of good companies that sell RAM for the Mac Pro... http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...1052121731+1052408745&name=DDR2+667+(PC2+5300)

    Anyway, to prove my point about Apple overcharging on RAM upgrades..
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820134086 is decent, except for having to deal with the heatsink issue, which I wouldn't mind calling "nearly trivial".
    a 2gb stick is $218, $223 after shipping. 223 times 4 is $892, let's bump that up to $1000 just cause of the time and effort it takes to do an upgrade.

    That is still vastly cheaper than Apple's 8gb 4x2gb option for an additional $2099, and you don't get to keep the old RAM if you go the Apple route (although, what you would do with 2x512mb nearly useless fbdimms is beyond me)
     

Share This Page