Mac Pro not booting

Nemi1596

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 16, 2020
22
1
First sorry if I’m in the wrong spot I have a Mac Pro 3,1 3.0 x5470s and it does not post it does not make the boot noise nothing and the led errb is the only thing that has lit up
 

TimothyR734

macrumors 68020
Apr 10, 2018
2,477
2,451
Logsden Oregon
Have you tried a SMC rest unplug everything evens drives,Hubs etc then unplug your power supply if possible remove your battery the press your power button a few times then put your battery back in plug in your power supply cord power on if nothing then try a PRAM reset hold Command-Option-Pand R buttons while powering on you MacBook
 
  • Like
Reactions: niji

Nemi1596

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 16, 2020
22
1
It’s a desktop and can I still do the command option p and r if the computer isn’t posting at all and idk if it’s one of the riser ram cards can the Mac run with just one or does it need two and I’ve already pulled both cpus and swapped sockets so I’m just trying to see if anyone might know some other stuff I can try before I just buy a new motherboard
 

MrVitalic

macrumors member
Mar 16, 2020
64
91
They are the same, but with my experience (maybe I'm wrong), for testing purpose, it can boot with the top card installed and not solely on the bottom one (if the top card is missing).
- - Post merged: - -


Check for 'trickle' power led. If I remember you can push a switch on the motherboard to get some led diagnostics. Trickle power refer to having enough current from the psu to boot.
 

MrVitalic

macrumors member
Mar 16, 2020
64
91
did you get to see the pdf link I posted for the 2008 macpro service manual ? I have a message that say 'This message is awaiting moderator approval, and is invisible to normal visitors'. Do a google research for 2008 macpro service manual.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Nemi1596

Nemi1596

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 16, 2020
22
1
did you get to see the pdf link I posted for the 2008 macpro service manual ? I have a message that say 'This message is awaiting moderator approval, and is invisible to normal visitors'. Do a google research for 2008 macpro service manual.
Thank you for the help no luck yet but I mean worse case scenario I buy a refurbished motherboard for like 50 to 70 dollars or 100 to 150 with cpus haven’t decided yet
- - Post merged: - -

I don’t want to do new cpus because as far as I can tell I have one of the better sets already x5470s
 

Nemi1596

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 16, 2020
22
1
So it just started working lol don’t know if that is a good or bad thing and it doesn’t seem to shut all the way down when I use the power button any ideas ?
 

MrVitalic

macrumors member
Mar 16, 2020
64
91
So it just started working lol don’t know if that is a good or bad thing and it doesn’t seem to shut all the way down when I use the power button any ideas ?
mmm. You have to press the power button for about 5 sec to shut down completely. Hope it goes well for you!
 

Nemi1596

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 16, 2020
22
1
I did that lol and there is still some things going on but as if right now just trying to get Mac OS on it
 

Nemi1596

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 16, 2020
22
1
mmm. You have to press the power button for about 5 sec to shut down completely. Hope it goes well for you!
So back to zero was working just fine I restarted multiple times I even down loaded el captain OS X and then it said I only had two gigs of ram which I have 8 and then I moved it and now it’s not working so those lights come on both risers when my computer is just plugged in not turned on
- - Post merged: - -

The led that says pwr is not lit up when the button is pressed is that right ?
 

Attachments

Last edited:

MrVitalic

macrumors member
Mar 16, 2020
64
91
classic bad ram riser board OR bad fb dimm stick. the 1.1 up to 3.1 are very sensible to ram. Try switching ram, place them in pair. I can not help you more.
 

Nemi1596

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 16, 2020
22
1
classic bad ram riser board OR bad fb dimm stick. the 1.1 up to 3.1 are very sensible to ram. Try switching ram, place them in pair. I can not help you more.
i just ordered two new (refurbished) risers brand new ram and a new mother board
 

Nemi1596

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 16, 2020
22
1
okay after new ram and new motherboard and ram risers it was actually the powersupply so if anyone needs to buy perfectly working 3,1 motherboard and ram risers let me know
 
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.