Mac Pro (old or new) experiences on Yosemite

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Cubemmal, Oct 17, 2014.

  1. Cubemmal macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    #1
    Version: 10.10 (just released)
    Mac Pro: (Early 2009 quad)
    GPU: AMD HD 7950

    I'm using this as a test bed for Yosemite before I put it on my new Mac Pro. I've also been using the preview Yosemite on a laptop and it's been fine with essentially no glitches detected.

    So far it seems just fine, other than a few incompatible plugins. Nicely they warn you about this right after install now

    • Wacom Control Panel plugin and driver (auto uninstalled)
    • GPGTools
    • One other, darn it I forgot.

    Some interesting things

    • The GPU fan is better controlled now. Quieter - I can't hear it at all whereas before it was slightly audible.
    • Safari is more 'hinky-jinky' while typing in text. Can't say whether that's just the web pages I'm on or Yosemite yet.
     
  2. dmylrea macrumors 68020

    dmylrea

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    #2
    Thinking that this is a thread for everyone to share their experiences, here is mine.

    Mac Pro 2009 (updated to 5,1 and specs in my signature) running Mavericks 10.9.5 + Server. Has been flawless.

    Downloaded and installed Yosemite from the App Store. Upon initial login, everything was DEAD SLOW. There was also a dialog that my system had restared unexpectedly. I wasn't watching the upgrade, so not sure what happened. Doing some quick troubleshooting, I realized that my Server app was probably causing issues (since it was still Mavericks Server). No internet, either. Figured out my internal DNS was not functioning so I pointed to a different DNS, and could now get on the internet.

    I fired up the App Store to check on a Server App update for Yosemite. Software update was offering a 3.2.2 (I think) but when I tried to download it, it said my OS was too new! (those exact words).

    I finally found there was a OS X Server 4.0, but it wasn't a free upgrade, it was another $19.99. Is that normal that if I already bought into OS X Server I have to BUY each and every major version upgrade?

    In any case, my computer is still panicking on me (but not when I'm around)...I just will sit down to it, log in, and I get the dialog that my system restarted unexpectedly and gives me the option to view the panic log.

    Also, I put my Mac to sleep last night, and this morning I get up and check and the power light is pulsing like it is asleep, except the system is running (fans, warm air, etc.). Oddly, I felt around inside the Mac and the RAM was very warm, but the CPU heatsink was cold. I pressed a key to "wake it up" and logged in, and yet another dialog about my computer restarting.

    I have a stock PC nvidia card in here, and I think I remember loading some CUDA support program under Mavericks...should I clean that out? Could my panics be due to the nVidia card?

    So far, not impressed with the upgrade, especially considering I had Server App installed. What is the proper way to update to Yosemite with Server, since both can't be done simultaneously?
     
  3. Korican100 macrumors 6502a

    Korican100

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    #3
    im interested in the current versions of Adobe software, and Final Cut PRo X

    Also, Ableton Live. Does anyone have experiences with yosemite and these software?
     
  4. Cubemmal thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    #4
    Yup. In the past the Mac Pro suffered the most in my experience from new OS upgrades. I have a variety of Macs and I got the distinct impression that the amount of QA they got was proportional to the sales (the laptops were mostly flawless, the Pro suffered). This time around it seems like they might be doing better.


    Interesting, on my laptop that I've been running Yosemite preview on the only issue I noted was that the DNS settings got messed up. Took a little to troubleshoot but once straightened out it was fine.

    Mine was annoyingly awake this morning. They STUPIDLY turn on the "Wake for Network Access" flag when they do a big install. Same as for setting the "Only run Apple approved apps" flag in Security. Stupid, annoying, but easily fixed.


    I love the Dark mode and overall cleaner look.
     
  5. Pending macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2014
    #5
    Just to add.
    If anyone knows if either or all Lightroom 4, Photoshop CS6, Premiere Pro CS6
    work fine please let us less brave souls know.
     
  6. dmylrea macrumors 68020

    dmylrea

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    #6
    Thanks for the couple of tips. I will check those settings.

    Just to clarify a couple of things -- regarding my DNS, since I was running OS X Server, my network DNS setting was set to myself, since I was running DNS service on server. After update to Yosemite, DNS service apparently was no longer working.

    And, my remark about not liking the upgrade, I meant the upgrade PROCESS, not Yosemite in general. Visually, I like it (don't LOVE it, but I like it). I haven't had a chance to check out many of the new features.

    Lastly, I removed the CUDA extension to see if that fixes my panic crashes.
     
  7. Cubemmal thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    #7
    I can check LR and PS later.
     
  8. Pending macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2014
    #8

    Thanks.
     
  9. bennibeef macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
  10. fuchsdh macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2014
    #10
    Had no noticeable issues playing around with PB3 and 4 on my 3,1 and now on my 5,1, but I'm going to let CS6 and CC users futz with Yosemite for now before I go for it as my main boot drive... I'm more concerned about Red Giant, Video Copilot, and Cycore plugins failing than I am about the applications themselves.
     
  11. 128keaton macrumors 68020

    128keaton

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    #11
    Version: 10.10
    Mac Pro: (1st gen, early 2006)
    GPU: nVidia GT210.


    Well, for me, everything works very well. Its smooth and silky, and since I've had the DevPreviews on my MacBook, I was already quite used to the new GUI. Xcode works as expected as well as CS5. For me, it feels much faster than Mavericks. I went ahead and setup my development environment (Xcode, Cocoapods, TextWrangler, SourceTree, Frank De Loupe, etc) and all of my apps work fine. I have already got some work done!
     
  12. CASLondon macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    #12
    I'm dying to know about Adobe CS6 and Yosemite, I'm hearing conflicting news. Particularly about AE and maybe Illustrator
     
  13. 128keaton macrumors 68020

    128keaton

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    #13
    I couldn't say for CS6 since I detest it, but I have CS5 working smoothly.
     
  14. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #14
    I've been using it since PB1 and the only issue I currently have is with Bluetooth.

    I'm using a BT dongle (mounted to a 3ft cable) because of BT interference with my USB 3.0 card. Anyway, upon startup, the Mac frequently forgets the pairing with my Microsoft Laser Mouse 8000, and I need to re-pair. This wasn't a problem with Mavericks.

    And yes, all my programs are working just fine including PS CS6.

    Lou
     
  15. Loa macrumors 65816

    Loa

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Location:
    Québec
    #15
    Hello,

    Anyone using the old Sil3132 eSATA cards on Yosemite?

    Thanks

    Loa
     
  16. Korican100 macrumors 6502a

    Korican100

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    #16
    you don't happen to have fcpx do you?
     
  17. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
  18. maclove4life macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #18
    someone in this forum mentioned having a problem with FCP X with yosemmite.
     
  19. 128keaton macrumors 68020

    128keaton

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    #19
    It isn't updated, the guy in the other thread was screwed.
     
  20. CodeJingle macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    Location:
    Greater Seattle, WA
    #20
    With Yosemite my new Mac Pro (late 2013) is crashing in spurts. It will get to a place where it doesn't crash for a while then all of a sudden it crashes every 15 minutes for a few hours straight. Fairly painful experience so far.
     
  21. PhiLLoW macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 31, 2014
    #21
    Have you done a clean install?


    I'm using Yosemite since Beta 2 or 3 or something and it works like a charm.
     
  22. EvilMonk macrumors regular

    EvilMonk

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    #22
    So far everything except the kext for my USB 3.0 card are working fine on yosemite on my 5,1 12 cores 2010 Mac Pro... VMware Fusion 7 is working fine for what I could see. Photoshop and Acrobat are working fine as well but my USB 3.0 hard drives are losing connection quite often because of the kext... just hope I can get a fix for that soon since I really need those drives...
     
  23. brentsg macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    #23
    My oMP seems to be working great so far post upgrade. I even let it sleep and there were no compatibility issues with my EVGA 680 / LG 34UM95 on the built in drivers. I'd been having all kinds of sleep/wake problems on Mavericks.
     
  24. Cubemmal thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    #24
    Despite my better judgment I upgraded the nMP. Installing was OK though interestingly it went through a number of reboot periods, including one that is like when they upgrade TB firmware. Maybe there's a bundled TB upgrade? Anyhow, I finally got to the "desktop", well, it was a blank screen with a mouse cursor and one of my desktop icons.

    I let it sit for a good while, then went in via ssh and killed the Window manager. Now it lets me log in normally and everything appears to be OK initially. I did get a crash on Adobe Bridge CS4.
     
  25. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #25
    ^^^^I also had installation issues, installing the Final Release over PB6. My post from another thread:

     

Share This Page