Mac Pro only runs 30htz in 4k on panasonic 4k screen

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Airborn, Dec 9, 2014.

  1. Airborn macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    #1
    Hey guys,
    Can anyone shed some light on this problem I have?
    I have recently built an editing suite built around a new Mac Pro (Quad-Core and Dual GPU) purchased around a week ago from the Apple store. I have linked it with a Belkin 4K Mini DisplayPort to HDMI Cable through the thunder bolt socket via hdmi to a Panasonic VIERA TX40AX630B 4K screen. The problem is it only outputting at 30htz and not 60htz which the screen is capable of.
    I have been right through the TV's set up and can't find anything to change to up the refresh rate.
    Is there something simple I am missing.

    Thanks you in advance.

    Mart
     
  2. Peace macrumors Core

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #2
    The display won't do 60Hz using HDMI because the Mac Pro doesn't use HDMI 2.0. It uses HDMI 1.4

    To get 60Hz from any display it would need to have a mini display port or thunderbolt.
     
  3. Airborn thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    #3
    So the TV or screen would need to have a display port socket? Forgive my ignorance! Is there anyway I can work around it with the screen I have? Like a converter or a lead? As I know the screen doesn't have a display port.
     
  4. mikeboss macrumors 65816

    mikeboss

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Location:
    switzerland
    #4
    the TV needs to be equipped with HDMI 2.0 capable inputs. otherwise it will be limited to 30 Hz.
     
  5. Airborn thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    #5
    And also the lead I purchased from the Apple Store comes out of the Mac Pro thunderbolt socket and into the hdmi socket of the TV not out of the hdmi socket of the Mac Pro to the hdmi socket of the TV
     
  6. Jim-H macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2013
    #6
    Do they make Mini DisplayPort to HDMI 2.0 Adapters?
     
  7. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #7
    1) The TV needs to have HDMI 2.0. If it does not, there will be no fix, sorry. (DisplayPort will work as well, but most TVs do not have DisplayPort, that's usually something monitors have specifically.)
    2) If the TV has HDMI 2.0, you'll just need to wait for a DisplayPort to HDMI 2.0 adapter, which hasn't been released yet but is coming.

    Edit: It looks like the TV has HDMI 2.0 but no DisplayPort, so you'll just have to wait for the right adaptor.
     
  8. Peace macrumors Core

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #8
    The new Mac Pro only uses HDMI 1.4. It does not use HDMI 2.0.

    The HDMI 2.0 spec ( The OP's display uses HDMI 2.0 ) allows UHD over HDMI. The Mac Pro does NOT have HDMI 2.0
     
  9. PhiLLoW macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 31, 2014
    #9

    HDMI sockets and cables are still the same as HDMI 1.4. the problem is that 4k and HDMI 2.0 support is still a mess everywhere. It's the software/drivers and a lot of false advertising that make 4k such a pain.


    The nMP can't output 4k@60Hz over HDMI. Even if it's connected with a Thunderbolt/minidisplayport to HDMI adapter. Your monitor needs a Displayport input.

    Older topic about this issue:
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1735154
     
  10. mikeboss macrumors 65816

    mikeboss

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Location:
    switzerland
    #10
  11. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #11
    No, but DisplayPort 1.2 can use an adaptor to get to HDMI 2.0, and the Mac Pro has DisplayPort 1.2. Hence my advice on an adaptor.

    Adaptors for DP1.2->HDMI 2.0 have been announced and are coming.
     
  12. PhiLLoW macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 31, 2014
    #12
    Still no,
    because the MacPro can't output HDMI 2.0 right now. Like I said - it's some kind of driver/firmware/support problem everywhere. OS X definetly not support 4k@60Hz when using HDMI signal. Only if both sides use display port.
     
  13. mikeboss macrumors 65816

    mikeboss

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Location:
    switzerland
    #13
    you don't need HDMI 2.0 OUT on the Mac, just HDMI 2.0 INPUT on the TV. the mDP port on the nMP will provide 4K @ 60Hz if OS X supports it.
     
  14. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #14
    The problem is that the passive signal on the GPUs on the Mac Pro are HDMI 1.4. Has nothing to do with OS X. Everyone is using passive adapters, so you can only get 1.4 out.

    If you have an active adapter you can get HDMI 2.0 out, doesn't matter what OS or if the machine is running OS X. Active adapters have been announced but have yet to ship.

    Absolutely positively nothing to do with OS X. It's the hardware on the box.
     
  15. PhiLLoW macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 31, 2014
    #15
    yet the signal of display port and HDMI is different.


    nMP outputs HDMI 1.4. That's a fact.HDMI 1.4 can't run a Display at 4k@Hz because HDMI simply doesn't have enough bandwidth. if you have a HDMI connection and want BOTH sides to be HDMI you need a display AND a pc/mac that support HDMI 2.0

    The DP 1.2 signal however got enough bandwidth to push all those pixels to a 4k display with 60Hz.


    The only possible way to run a 4k@60Hz display with HDMI is:
    ==> add driver/firmware support in OS X for the Graphics card to push out HDMI 2.0 signal to the HDMI 2.0 input

    or

    => Push a DP 1.2 Signal to a "magical device" that actively converts DP 1.2 to a HDMI 2.0 signal. OS X will recognize a DP 1.2 display, deliver a DP1.2 signal like your monitor uses a displayport input. Unfortunately such a device is not available on the consumer market yet.
     
  16. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #16
    No graphics card in that series can do HDMI 2.0. PC or Mac. The hardware just isn't there for the pure HDMI output. A firmware or a driver change will not cut it. It's the actual circuits on the board. They aren't clocked right.

    Yes, this has been announced and is coming.
     
  17. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #17
    Or upgrade to a cMP with a GTX970 or GTX980 which have HDMI 2.0

    Another reason having welded in 3 year old GPUs was a bad idea.

    You might be able to use a 980 in a TB chassis.....
     
  18. mikeboss macrumors 65816

    mikeboss

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Location:
    switzerland
    #18
    okay, I was wrong :eek: I did some google-fu and it seems indeed impossible to use only a passive cable to get 4K @ 60Hz with (mini)DP 1.2 -> HDMI 2.0. active converters/adapters are announced and should arrive in Q1 or Q2/2015.
     
  19. megalaser macrumors 6502

    megalaser

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    #19
    Where did you see the announcement of an active DP 1.2 to HDMI 2.0 adaptor?
     
  20. mikeboss macrumors 65816

    mikeboss

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Location:
    switzerland
    #20

Share This Page