Mac Pro optical drive bays as HDD or SSD slot?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by gieppetto, Apr 5, 2011.

  1. gieppetto macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    #1
    Hi All,

    I've been thinking... could the Mac Pro's ODD bays accomodate a hard drive enclosure thing the same way the current MBP line can? Would that be a possibility for 2.5" drives? Could make for some pretty interesting RAID 6-ish combos.

    Thanks for any info, I searched around but couldn't find an answer.
     
  2. DeeEss macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    #2
    Hey,

    Yes you are right and it's a popular move to do so. I have removed my ODD (there you go Nano :)) and have placed two SSD's in both Sata connections. So I run 2 SSD's in Raid 0 and then the 4 Drive Bays I have a 4 Disk Mechanical Drive Raid 0 setup.

    6 drive Raid 0 sounds amazing though I believe the Mac Pro bandwidth is saturated at 3. Someone here for sure will know the answer to that. Also I thikn you then need a RAID card. Again someone else can answer that for sure though.

    :)
     
  3. odinsride macrumors 65816

    odinsride

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    #3
  4. sammyman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    #4
    I can't figure out how to plug in the 2nd SSD. Do I have to unplug the Super Drive to accomplish this? I only see the 1 cable for SSD, and the 2nd cable goes to the Superdrive. Am I missing something?
     
  5. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #5
    Nope. You are not missing anything. You need to not use the DVD drive if you want 2 SSD's in there.
     

Share This Page