Mac Pro optical drive question?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Celeron, Apr 20, 2007.

  1. Celeron macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    #1
    I currently have a 12'' Powerbook G4 that I've been using for almost 3 years now. I was in the Apple Store yesterday playing with the Mac Pros they have setup. I hit the eject button and the superdrive opened as I expected. When I pushed it again the drive didn't close. Should it? If not, is one expected to push the tray back in to close the superdrive?
     
  2. tyr2 macrumors 6502a

    tyr2

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Location:
    Leeds, UK
    #2
    Yes it should close again when you press the eject button.

    In 10.4.9 you now have to hold the eject key for about a second for it to do anything, perhaps it was that?
     
  3. Celeron thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    #3
    Maybe, I don't remember if I held it down. I read a lot of people mentioning that change. Its always been like that on my Powerbook (maybe a laptop vs. desktop thing?).

    Anyway, I was just curious because it seemed odd if you had to manually push the tray back in.
     
  4. eMagine macrumors regular

    eMagine

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #4

    don't need to hold it for a second. a slight tap on the eject key will do.
     
  5. Willis macrumors 68020

    Willis

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Location:
    What feels like the middle of nowhere
    #5
    I have to hold the key to close the draw on our Mac Pro..

    *shrug*
     
  6. eMagine macrumors regular

    eMagine

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #6
    Whatcha talking about Willis?.. j/k :)

    Maybe we have different keyboards.. (I have the Logitech S530 Mac Keyboard)

    ~g
     
  7. Kosh66 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    #7
    NOT in 10.4.9. I tap the eject key and it does nothing. You actually have to press and hold it for a second for the eject to work.

    This has been noted in another thread. And I've sure noticed it.
     

Share This Page