Mac Pro or Custom PC?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Secret Legend, May 28, 2010.

1. Secret Legend macrumors newbie

Hey guys so right now I am kicking butt with my iMac i7, but I want something more professional like a Mac Pro or a Custom Built PC, but I am super confused on which to get. I am a video editor, photo editor, and do a lot of encoding and burning DVDs and CDs. Also I do a quite a bit of gaming on a computer (Currently using bootcamp). Also I run servers on my machine through VMware since I don't have windows right there, and I cant be switching back and forth with bootcamp. Plus, I need something that is going to last a while. So what do you guys think? Should I get a Mac Pro or a Custom PC? Any answers are greatly appreciated :)

2. peakchua macrumors regular

mac pro all the way (though pcs would have more raw power)

since you want something to last for a while a have more power, i suggest you wait until the latest, september for a new mac pro the mac pro is slower than the imac as macworld benchmarked. if u love your imac but need something more powerful, apple hasnt rolled out their complete 2010 line. the new line will probably feature 12 core processors, 5xxx gpus, more ram and maybe cheaper prices??? custom pc u can get the specs anyime but i dont really trust windows. im a refugee :p i had dells, lenvos, acers and they all had screwed up problems. get a mac pro!! with 2 superdrives. it works. the pc may have more raw power but winblows doesent know how to manage it it just uses it without multicore technoology like apple does. since u are a mac rumor forum member. MAC+SNOW LEOPARD FTW!!!:)

3. mikeo007 macrumors 65816