Mac Pro or iMac?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by PsyD4Me, Oct 22, 2010.

1. PsyD4Me macrumors 6502a

PsyD4Me

would you buy:

One 2.8GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon “Nehalem” processor (i'll upgrade ram myself)

or a i7 iMac with 8gb of ram and 1tb 7200?

from reading geekbench it seems that two setups are pretty much the same no?

2. dissolve macrumors 6502a

Yes, they'll have similar performance (although the iMac will edge out the MP in some applications). Do you have a monitor? Are you okay with the glassy iMac display? Do you need the expandability of the MP? Those are the questions you need to answer to decide. What are your uses?

For the record, I went through a similar decision and chose the MP for cheaper and better SSD options, expandability, and because I didn't want the iMac display (I'm a hobbyist photographer and value color/print accuracy).

3. Velin macrumors 65816

Velin

If you need either (a) lots of hard drive storage space or like to upgrade your SSDs, and/or (b) want the ability to upgrade graphics cards, get the Mac Pro.

If no, then iMac is mighty attractive machine with a great screen and good price.

4. Epsilon88 macrumors 6502

Frankly, the iMac should be sufficient for 90% of desktop users. If you really need the extra power, but more importantly, have cash to burn (considering you'll need to get a display as well), then the Mac Pro would be a good option.

5. PsyD4Me thread starter macrumors 6502a

PsyD4Me

Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/532.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0.5 Mobile/8B117 Safari/6531.22.7)

Guys, I already have a 24" apple cinema, bit I might sell it if i go the iMac route

6. The Beatles macrumors regular