Mac Pro or iMac

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by forwardesignz, May 12, 2011.

1. forwardesignz macrumors newbie

Hello great Mac lovers,

I am a Graphic Designer, which uses Abode Photoshop, Illustrator and Indesign a lot. I use very large images and sometimes all 3 softwares at one time.

I have the budget to get the Mac Pro, but according to MacRumors Buyer's Guide, I should wait:

http://guides.macrumors.com/Mac_Pro_Buyer's_Guide

Should I buy the new iMac and wait till the new Mac Pros come out or should I just buy the Mac Pro and forget about the new release?

This is a huge step, and I need advice on what's best for this current situation.

2. Santabean2000 macrumors 68000

Santabean2000

Do you have to buy now?

Anyone making money with their Mac should look towards a MP, (except mobile characters, who need a MBP).

The new MPs (coming... 'soon') are worth waiting for.

iMacs are great, but somewhat limited by their all-in-one design; MPs offer the flexibility for pros.

3. Hellhammer Moderator

Hellhammer

Staff Member

It's unlikely that Mac Pros will be updated before Q4 2011 since there are no suitable CPUs for them. Unless you can wait that long, go with the iMac. Thunderbolt makes iMac much more upgradeable and you can finally add high-speed external storage to iMac without mods. The only reason to go for the Mac Pro is if you hate the iMac's display or you need PCIe slots for even faster bandwidth.

4. aloshka macrumors 65816

And now it seems the HDD upgrade on imacs is impossible. So if you want SSDs and more storage space w/o having a bunch of external drives, go mac pro.

5. cheesymogul macrumors regular

Neither I nor any of my graphic designer colleagues like the glossy iMac displays. None of us would ever buy that crappy current Apple Display.
    Therefore we all use Mac Pros with a non-Apple matte display of our choice.