mac pro or imac?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by loseit, Oct 24, 2007.

1. loseit macrumors newbie

hi, i've been reading through these forums and other resources just trying to figure out which is better for me. right now i have an ancient 1.2ghz g4 ibook, and i'm ready to upgrade to a real computer. its taken me a long time to replace this, simply because nothings wrong with it. anyway, i would classify myself a little above an "average" computer user. i know my way around a good amount of programs pretty well. i would generally be using it for music production like using pro tools and reason. i couldn't really find any threads talking about that here. i'm not really a professional, but its more than a hobby. i know how to maintain my computer and like it to run as fast as possible at all times. the way the computers are described by apple, i see myself as more of a mac pro user as opposed to an imac user.

i guess with that being said, here are my main concerns:

1. people are saying the mac pro will be updated between november and january, i was just wondering which is more likely. and if the price will be competitive with the imac.
    2. this sounds kind of dumb, but are the mac pros geared more towards "professionals" i.e. scientists, architects, engineers etc...
    3. is it worth it to spend the extra money on the pro, or would an imac be more than enough?

any suggestions are greatly appreciated. thank you.

2. netdog macrumors 603

netdog

If you record in the vicinity of your computer, the near-silence of the iMac may make it more appropriate for you. Honestly, this is why I wish they had kept on with the cube. Fan-free silence was a great feature of that particular Mac.

3. twoodcc macrumors P6

twoodcc

well they are both nice machines.

i think it depends on how long you want it to last, how much hard drive space you need, etc. the iMac only holds 1 hard drive, while the mac pro holds 4 (or more).