Mac Pro or...

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Raysito22, Nov 15, 2009.

1. Raysito22 macrumors newbie

Hi there, I'm about to buy a computer (holiday season for sure), and while I was quite certain it would be a Mac Pro, now I'm quite doubtful. The main use I'd give the computer would be Photoshop (as I'm a photographer), and as you might know, you need quite a bit of power when you work with layers and you already have a 2GB Tiff. I'd also want to play some games (mostly Modern Warfare 2) with all the eye-candy on.

Now, I'm from Spain so first, sorry for my English, and then, expect prices to be in € and also a bit different than they might be there. The Mac Pro I had in mind was something like this:

Mac Pro Quad 2.66 Ghz
    12 GB RAM
    1 TB HDD
    AMD 4870
    Wi-fi card

Price: 2800 €

Quite an expensive machine, and I think not that powerful (for games, quite crappy indeed). The other rig would be something like this:

Asus Rampage II Republic of Gamers Mobo
    Intel Core i7 920
    12GB Ram Kingston HyperX 1600
    x2 Crossfire AMD 5870
    1 TB HDD
    Windows 7 (worst part this one)

Price: 2300 €

Obviously the second rig is quite a few galaxies away from the Mac Pro in terms of gaming, and i7 920 would let me do quite a bit of OC so I'd probably get a bit more power from the CPU as well. I cannot spend more money on the Mac Pro, so what do you think about the second rig? Thanks.

2. Gav2k macrumors G3

Gav2k

You need to decide what you want the machine for. The mac will eat up your work side but suck at gaming where as the windows machine will be able to do both. The added umpf from the gfx will help depending on what your doing in Photoshop.

3. psingh01 macrumors 65816

what's the cost if you get the cheap video card for the mac pro then add a high end card for bootcamp gaming? you end up with too cards in the mac pro but probably for the same price that apple charges you to "upgrade"

4. Hellhammer Moderator

Hellhammer