Mac Pro PCIE SSD

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Gpro, Oct 22, 2013.

  1. Gpro macrumors member

    Gpro

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #1
    Does anyone know if i can put any PCIE SSD like an OCZ, and work? i know it won't be able to boot from it but can i use it as a secondary drive to have apps running from it?
     
  2. DJenkins macrumors 6502

    DJenkins

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #2
    The only one with official Mac support is the OWC Accelsior.

    I bought an OCZ Revodrive and could never get it working.

    Some people have had luck before with a few models (cant recall exactly which ones) using SIL3124 drivers.

    Your best bet is to get an Accelsior or put a few SSDs together with a PCIe raid card.
     
  3. Gpro thread starter macrumors member

    Gpro

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #3
    just had a look in to them and looks like OWC Accelsior PCIE is the way to go.
    I need a bit of advice. At the moment i am a PC owner i sold my mac pro a while ago.

    I am planning on purchasing a 2009 8 core mac pro and upgrade it with PCIE ssd for extreme performance and 24GB ram
    Do you think it will be able to cope with this tasks but fast without lagging.

    Needs to be running as a web server so it has to stay on 24/7
    Running virtual windows 7 on secondary monitor
    Run photoshop and dreamweaver on mac without any lag
    Run videos and 15+ tabs open on a browser

    Would you say its powerful enough to do all them tasks without any issues?
     
  4. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #4
    Personally I'd spend $300 and built a dedicated webserver.

    Otherwise it's more than fast enough for the tasks you require.
     
  5. Gpro thread starter macrumors member

    Gpro

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #5
    I already have a dedicated server i was planning on upgrading soon but i thought why not just run it on the mac? it will be running in the background and on its own SSD harddrive so it won't suffer performance when i am using the harddrives for big tasks. And realistically when do you ever use 100% cpu usage.

    Also dedicated servers are loud! i am moving to a new home soon that doesn't have a garage so i am debating what to with with my current server
     
  6. Gpro thread starter macrumors member

    Gpro

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #6
    i have been researching more in to this and been reading mixed reviews on what would be better for my setup
    lower cores high clock speed CPU (Quad)
    or high cores lower clock speed CPU (8 core)
     

Share This Page