Mac Pro processor for graphic design/photoshop?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by meg722, May 3, 2010.

1. meg722 macrumors newbie

I'm a graphic designer looking to upgrade my single processor G5 (which is close to unusable at this point) to a Quad-Core Mac Pro. I will be buying the new CS5 software to run on it, so it will need to handle complex photo editing/large files in photoshop, etc.

From what I've read thus far on these forums, it sounds like CS5 can't utilize the 8-core anyway, so I've decided on the Quad-core. But my question is, should I go with the 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz, or 3.33GHz processor? Obviously higher is better, but will I notice much of a difference between these options?

Or should adding more RAM be the priority? I'm thinking I would upgrade to 8GB regardless, and probably more eventually.

What do you all think? Cost is somewhat of an issue, but I don't mind spending more now if it means the computer will last me 7+ years. I've been waiting for the 2010 models, but who knows when that will be... and now that CS5 is out I'm getting impatient! (But then again, waiting could be the smart option, I suppose...)

Thanks in advance for your help! :)

2. Umbongo macrumors 601

Umbongo

Without breaking down exactly how you will use the software my suggestion would be buy as much processor as you can because you can upgrade memory later. Also as you aren't using a modern system or the software you wont know how much memory you may be overestimating how much memory you need. 8GB is a lot even for Photoshop. Unless you are planning a major change in what you are doing a 2.66GHz quad with 8GB is a huge step up from what you have and is also more than suitable for most tasks. All you are buying after that is time saving and reduced frustration, not new creative options.

You may want to continue waiting though, it is very likely something will appear on one of the next 5 Tuesdays, unless you are looking at a refurb system.

3. nanofrog macrumors G4